Army chief to host Iftar for Pakistan cricket team

The national side is currently taking part in a fitness camp in Kakul

April 03, 2024
Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Asim Munir (L) and Babar Azam (R). - ISPR/PCB

RAWALPINDI: Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Asim Munir will host an iftar for the Pakistan cricket team on April 7 in Rawalpindi.

The national side is currently taking part in a fitness camp in Kakul, Abbottabad. Pakistan players underwent training and gym exercises at the Army School of Physical Training (ASPT).

According to sources, the fitness camp, which was set to conclude on April 8, could be wrapped up a day before the date announced earlier.

The players will travel to Rawalpindi from Abbottabad on April 7 for the Iftar during the ongoing holy month of Ramadan. After Iftar, players will go back home ahead of Eid-ul-Fitr.

Players called up for camp:

Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah, Saud Shakeel, Usman Khan, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mehran Mumtaz, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Ali, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Amir.

It must be noted that New Zealand will touch down in Pakistan on April 14 for the eagerly-anticipated five-match T20I series.

The two teams will play three T20Is at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi on 18, 20 and 21 April. Following that, both sides will move to Lahore, where they will play the remaining two T20Is of the series on 25 and 27 April, respectively.

All five matches of the T20I series will start at 7:00pm (PST).

Michael Bracewell will lead New Zealand during their tour of Pakistan.

Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner and Kane Williamson won’t feature in the series due to Indian Premier League commitments.

Colin Munro was also unavailable for selection, while Tim Southee has been rested.

Will Young was also unavailable for selection due to his contract with Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club, as was Tom Latham, who is awaiting the birth of his second child.

Wellington’s Tim Robinson and Canterbury’s Will O’Rourke have been picked for the first time in New Zealand’s T20I squad.

Pakistan’s squad is set to be announced in a day or two.