Real Madrid to appeal Bellingham’s red card after Valencia controversy

The Englishman was sent off for protesting after the final whistle

By Web Desk
March 03, 2024
Real Madrid players protesting after their last-minute goal was not counted by the referee. — X/MadridZone

Real Madrid decided to appeal against the red card shown to Jude Bellingham during a controversial La Liga match against Valencia at Mastella Stadium on Saturday.

The score was 2-2 and the visitors had possession of the ball, as Madrid’s substitute Brahim Diaz crossed the ball, referee Gil Manzano blew the final whistle while the ball was still in the air.

Bellingham converted Brahim’s cross into a goal but the goal didn’t stand as the referee had already blown the final. Madrid’s players soon surrounded Manzano and started protesting.

An angry Bellingham stepped in and as per the referee’s match report, said "It's a f*****g goal”, an offence for which he was shown a straight red card.

“In the 99th minute, the player Bellingham, Jude Victor William, was sent off for the following reason. After the end of the game and still on the field of play, he ran towards me with an aggressive attitude and shouted, repeating on several occasions: 'It's a f*****g goal',” Manzano wrote in the match report.

Madrid will appeal against the red card as they believe that Bellingham didn’t abuse the referee and that a direct red is unfair. However, if their appeal is rejected, the Englishman may end up missing two or more matches.

The Whites' head coach Carlo Ancelotti opened up after the match when he stated that he didn’t understand the referee’s decision to blow the final whistle when Brahim attempted the cross.

"There's not much to say. Something unprecedented has happened and it's never happened to me before After the rebound we had possession. It's never happened to me before and there's nothing more to add,” Ancelotti said as quoted by Real Madrid.

“We were annoyed by Bellingham's red card because he didn't say anything insulting. It was frustration. He said: 'It's a f*****g goal' and that's the truth. Had the referee blown the whistle when the Valencia keeper cleared the ball, it would have been right, but he allowed play to continue and we had possession. I think he has made a mistake."