Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United: Preview, prediction and likely lineups for PSL 9 match

The ninth edition of the league is set to begin on February 17 in Lahore

By Web Desk
February 16, 2024
Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United will be played at the Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday. — PCB

Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United are all set to go head-to-head in the opening encounter of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9 at the Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday.

Islamabad have won the title two times, 2016 and 2018, while Lahore are the defending champions and are in pursuit of their third successive title after recording impressive wins in 2022 and 2023. Both teams will look to start the new season of the PSL with a blast. With a number of quality players on both sides, an epic showdown is expected between two powerhouses of the league.

The two sides have met for a total of 17 times with Islamabad having a slight edge with 9 wins. However, Lahore have dominated their counterparts since 2021 as they won all five encounters between them.

Lahore’s biggest challenge would be to take the field without their most destructive T20 bowler, Rashid Khan, who withdrew from the tournament due to an injury. However, youngster Syed Faridoun is expected to cover for the skilful Afghani spinner.

On the other hand, Islamabad will not be having the services of destructive batter Asif Ali, who was not retained by the franchise and moved to Peshawar Zalmi during PSL 9 Draft although they would be able to cover for Asif as Haider Ali and former Karachi Kings skipper Imad Wasim will play down the order.

Pitch report

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore’s surface has proven to be a heaven for batters. Four times the scoreline has gone above 200 and two times 190. Lahore’s pitch has historically favoured batters with a bit of assistance to bowlers in the early overs with new ball. With no rain forecasts and a clear sky, another high-scoring clash is expected.

Probable Playing XIs

Lahore Qalandars: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen, Dan Lawrence, Kamran Ghulam, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan, Syed Faridoun.

Islamabad United: Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Salman Agha, Azam Khan, Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Naseem Shah, Tymal Mills, Obed McCoy.


Islamabad United to win since they have covered all bases adequately as compared to Lahore Qalandars.


    Abdul Rahman Memon commented 2 months ago

    islamabadUnited win inshallah