PSL 9: Here are the match timings during Ramadan

The ninth edition of the much-anticipated league is set to commence on February 17

By Web Desk
February 16, 2024
Lahore Qalandars' squad takes a selfie after winning PSL 8. — PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the timings of matches for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 9 which is set to begin on Saturday (February 17) in Lahore.

The opening match will see two-time champions Islamabad United take on two-time as well as defending champions Lahore Qalandars at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

The match between the two sides will begin at 8pm (Pakistan Standard Time), as confirmed by the PCB. However, when there would be two matches in a day, the first will begin at 2pm while the night match will start at 7pm.

Furthermore, the PCB also revealed the match timings during Ramadan, which are expected to start after March 10. The cricketing board confirmed that the matches in the religious month will begin at 9pm.

There will be an opening ceremony for the PSL 9 where prominent artists Ali Zafar, Aima Baig, Arif Lohar and Noori will perform while fireworks and a laser show will also be part of the event.

Gates will swing open for spectators at 3:30 pm, with the ceremony kicking off at 6:30 pm.

The 34-match T20 tournament promises high-octane cricket in various cities. Karachi will host 11 matches, including the qualifier, two eliminators, and the final.

Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore and Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi will each serve as battlegrounds for nine matches, while Multan, known as the city of saints, will be the backdrop for five thrilling encounters.

A highly anticipated clash between Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings is scheduled for 24 February and 9 March. Gaddafi Stadium will host the February 24 encounter, while the National Bank Stadium will be the venue for the Qalandars and Kings match on March 9.

Teams like Kings, Qalandars, Sultans, and United will play five matches at their respective home grounds, while Peshawar Zalmi will play four matches at Pindi Cricket Stadium. 

Quetta Gladiators, on the other hand, will play three matches each in Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi, with one match at Multan Cricket Stadium against the home side Sultans on February 25.