Here is the complete list of English cricketers who will feature in PSL 9

Many of them have been appearing regularly in the previous editions of the PSL

By Imran Munawar/Saima Haroon
February 16, 2024
Jason Roy (L) and Alex Hales (R). - AFP

BIRMINGHAM: A total of 16 English cricketers will be starring in the ninth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL), including some of the biggest names who have performed consistently not only in the T20 Blast and The Hundred tournaments but also T20 leagues around the globe.

Many of them have been appearing regularly in the previous editions of the PSL. However, some of the big names will miss out on PSL 9 due to England's ongoing tour of India for Test series as well as injuries.

The month-long tournament, which is now regarded as one of the biggest T20 cricket festivals in the world, is set to start on February 17.

But not all of those English players will feature for the whole tournament as some of them are set to miss the initial few games due to their commitments with national team and the ongoing ILt20 in the UAE.

English players who will feature in this edition of the PSL are Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, James Vince, Will Smeed, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Tymal Mills, Dan Lawrence and Chris Jordan.

David Wiley, Jordon Cox, Luke Wood, Laurie Evans, Gus Atkinson, James Overton and Dan Mousley will also play in this edition.

Players like Hales, Vince, Malan, Mills, Jordan and Roy have featured in earlier editions of the tournament as well.

Peshawar Zalmi have signed the most English players, four in total, while Islamabad United, Multan Sultans and Quetta Gladiators have three English players in their squad, each. Two English cricketers will be starring for Karachi Kings. Defending champions Lahore Qalandars have signed only one Englishman in their squad.

Six of those players are from Surrey while two players are from Somerset. One player each from Nottinghamshire, Warwickshire, Lancashire, Yorkshire, Northamptonshire, Sussex, Kent and Hampshire counties are also featuring in this year’s edition of the PSL.

Peshawar Zalmi

Four English cricketers will feature in the Peshawar Zalmi squad in this year’s edition of the PSL. Zalmi have picked Tom Kohler-Cadmore again this year but in the diamond category. Somerset’s Kohler-Cadmore will feature in the PSL for the fourth season. In 2022 and 2023, Koehler-Cadmore played for Peshawar Zalmi and also Quetta Gladiators in 2018.

Warwickshire’s all-rounder Dan Mousley was picked in the silver category. Off spinner Mousley who has been performing consistently with both bat and ball in the last couple of seasons will feature for the first time in the PSL.

Lancashire’s left arm pacer Luke Wood was picked in supplementary category while Surrey and England’s young pace sensation Gus Atkinson was picked in the replacement draft. After Mark Wood and Jofra Archer, Gus Atkinson is another English pacer who can consistently bowl around 150kph mark.

Islamabad United

Three English cricketers will feature for Islamabad United in this edition of PSL. Top of the list is dashing opener Alex Hales who was picked in the gold category. T20 World Cup-winner Hales, from Nottinghamshire CCC who announced his retirement from international cricket, has played for United in 2018, 2019, and 2021 and for Karachi Kings in 2020. Last season he rejoined United and decided to skip England’s tour of Bangladesh in March 2023 to participate in the PSL. This will be his sixth appearance in the league.

Other English players who will feature for Islamabad United include Jordan Cox (Kent) and Tymal Mills (Sussex).

Pacer Tymal Mills who was picked in diamond category is also featuring for the sixth time in this tournament. He has earlier played for Quetta Gladiators in 2017 and 2020, for Karachi Kings in 2018, for Peshawar Zalmi in 2019 and for United in 2022.

Wicketkeeper-batter Jordon Cox was picked up again this year by Islamabad United but in platinum category.

Multan Sultans

Sultans who didn’t sign even a single English cricketer last year have signed three for this season. Although, initially Multan Sultans had picked four English cricketers but fast bowler Richard Gleason of Lancashire failed to obtain NOC from ECB due to an injury rehabilitation.

Three others who will star for Sultans in PSL 9 are Dawid Malan, David Willey and Chris Jordan.

Yorkshire’s Dawid Malan, who was picked in diamond category will feature for the fifth time in the PSL. He earlier played in 2016, 2017 and 2019 for Peshawar Zalmi and in 2020 for Islamabad United.

All-rounder David Willey who was recently appointed to lead Northamptonshire was picked up in the platinum category by Sultans. Willey, son of former English Test umpire Peter Willey, have also played for Multan Sultans in 2022 season.

Surrey’s Chris Jordan, who was picked up by Sultans in the supplementary pick, is also one of those players who have regularly featured in the PSL. Fast bowler Jordan has also represented Peshawar Zalmi in 2017-2019 as well as Karachi Kings in 2020 and 2022.

Quetta Gladiators

Gladiators have again retained exciting English opener Jason Roy in the diamond category. Roy, who's renowned for his flamboyant style of batting, played for Quetta Gladiators in 2018, 2020, 2022 and 2023 tournaments while he was part of the Lahore Qalandars squad in 2017.

Last year, Surrey’s Roy shattered records by scoring 143 runs off just 63 deliveries against Peshawar Zalmi. In a sensational display of hitting, Roy smashed 20 fours and 5 sixes to make not only his highest score in T20 cricket but also the highest individual score ever in the PSL’s history.

Quetta Gladiators have also retained Will Smeed in the silver category. Somerset’s Smeed, who played for the first time in the PSL in 2022, will be in Gladiators’ squad for the third consecutive edition.

Surrey's Laurie Evans was picked by Gladiators in supplementary category.

Karachi Kings

English opener James Vince has been picked by Karachi Kings once again in the diamond category. Hampshire’s captain Vince will be part of the PSL for the fifth time. Vince featured for Kings in 2016, Multan Sultans in 2019 and Quetta Gladiators in 2022.

The other English cricketer signed by Karachi Kings is fast bowler Jamie Overton of Surrey who was picked in supplementary category.

Lahore Qalandars

Defending champion Lahore Qalandars have signed just one English player for this year’s PSL compared to last year’s three. Surrey’s captain Dan Lawrence was picked by Qalandars in the silver category. However, due to his sudden call up in English Test squad for the tour of India he’s set to miss at least February leg of the PSL. Dan Lawrence was signed by Quetta Gladiators as supplementary pick in PSL 7.