PSL 9 trophy unveiled ahead of new season

The tournament is set to begin from February 17

By Web Desk
February 13, 2024
Captains pose with the PSL 9 trophy. - PCB

The trophy for season nine of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) was unveiled in Lahore on Tuesday.

All the captains were present during the trophy unveiling ceremony at the Race Course Park. 

The trophy was named “The Orion Trophy” and will be a source of motivation for all the teams participating in the tournament, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said in a press release. 

"Orion, in various mythologies and cultures, is often associated with a prominent constellation located in the celestial equator. The constellation is easily recognisable by three bright stars forming Orion's Belt and is visible from both hemispheres, making it one of the most well-known and easily identifiable star patterns in the night sky," the PCB added. 

"Made from pure silver and coated in white gold, the elegant trophy exudes prestige. Each detail is plated with white gold, adding grace that signifies the excellence of the Pakistan Super League. With the investment of 900+ hours of non-stop work and hand placement of 18,000 stones, this marvel stands tall and proud."

PSL 9 will be held in four cities — Karachi, Lahore, Multan and Rawalpindi — with the final of the event taking place at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi on March 18.

Like the previous edition, the PSL 9 will take place in two legs with Multan Cricket Stadium and Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium hosting 14 matches between them from February 17 to 27. The action then moves to Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium and Karachi’s National Bank Stadium, where 16 matches will be held from February 28 to March 12. The event will then move to Karachi in its entirety for the playoffs.

The opening match will feature the two-time champions and current titleholders, Lahore Qalandars, facing off against Islamabad United, winners of the 2016 and 2018 editions.

A highly anticipated clash between Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings is scheduled for 24 February and 9 March. Gaddafi Stadium will host the February 24 encounter, while the National Bank Stadium will be the venue for the Qalandars and Kings match on March 9.

Teams like Kings, Qalandars, Sultans, and United will play five matches at their respective home grounds, while Peshawar Zalmi will play four matches at Pindi Cricket Stadium. Quetta Gladiators, on the other hand, will play three matches each in Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi, with one match at Multan Cricket Stadium against the home side Sultans on February 25.


    Saqib commented a week ago

    Psl ke hero, international matches ke zero