PSL 9: Two pacers ruled out in blow to Multan Sultans

The franchise is owned by Ali Tareen

By Web Desk
February 12, 2024
Ihsanullah- AFP

Multan Sultans have been hit with a setback as their two premium pacers will not be in action in Pakistan Super League (PSL) season nine.

According to team owner Ali Tareen, England pacer Reece Topley is out as he was not granted No Objection Certificate (NOC) by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

The 29-year-old, who was picked in the gold category held in December 2023, is carrying a niggle.

Meanwhile, Pakistan pacer Ihsanullah will also miss the competition.

"PCB has informed us that Ihsanullah will miss the entire PSL," Ali said in 'Relukattay' podcast.

Ihsanullah, 21, was the second-highest wicket-taker in PSL 8 with 22 scalps to his name in 12 innings.

After the end of the tournament, the right-arm pacer started to feel discomfort in his elbow which ultimately led to surgery and was under the supervision of PCB.

It must be noted that PSL 9 will be held in four cities — Karachi, Lahore, Multan and Rawalpindi — with the final of the event taking place at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi on March 18.

Like the previous edition, the PSL 9 will take place in two legs with Multan Cricket Stadium and Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium hosting 14 matches between them from February 17 to 27. The action then moves to Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium and Karachi’s National Bank Stadium, where 16 matches will be held from February 28 to March 12. The event will then move to Karachi in its entirety for the playoffs.

Multan Sultans squad for PSL 9

Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed (both Platinum), Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir (both Diamond), Abbas Afridi (Gold), Faisal Akram (Emerging), Dawid Malan, Reeze Hendricks, Tayyab Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Ali, Usman Khan, Yasir Khan, Chris Jordan, Aftab Ibrahim, David Willey, Johnson Charles, Muhammad Shahzad

Multan Sultan fixtures for PSL 9

18 February v Karachi Kings, Multan Cricket Stadium

20 February v Islamabad United, Multan Cricket Stadium

21 February v Lahore Qalandars, Multan Cricket Stadium

23 February v Peshawar Zalmi, Multan Cricket Stadium

25 February v Quetta Gladiators, Multan Cricket Stadium

27 February v Lahore Qalandars, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

3 March v Karachi Kings, National Bank Stadium, Karachi

5 March v Peshawar Zalmi, Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

10 March v Islamabad United, Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

12 March v Quetta Gladiators, National Bank Stadium, Karachi