David Warner writes history during first West Indies T20I match

The left-handed batter is one of the greatest Australian batters of all time

By Web Desk
February 09, 2024
David Warner raises his bat after completing a half-century. — AFP

Star Australian opener David Warner made history with a fifty-plus score during the opening T20I against West Indies in Hobart on Friday.

The left-handed batter smashed a rapid 70 runs off 36 balls at a strike rate of 194.44, with the aid of one six and 12 boundaries.

He also forged a 93-run partnership with Josh Inglis for the opening wicket in what marked his 100th T20I appearance.

Previously, Warner had struck a double century in his 100th Test against South Africa at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in December 20, 2023.

The southpaw accumulated 200 runs off 255 balls in the first innings, featuring two sixes and 16 boundaries. Australia emerged victorious in the match by an innings and 182 runs.

In Warner’s 100th ODI, he notched up 124 runs against India at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru in 2017. His innings comprised four sixes and 12 boundaries. Australia clinched the match by 21 runs.

Thus, David Warner became the first player to achieve 50-plus scores in his 100th match in each format. Additionally, the Aussie joined the ranks of New Zealand’s Ross Taylor and India’s Virat Kohli as the only players to participate in 100 games across formats.

Warner is now aiming to become the second Australian to surpass 3,000 runs in T20Is. The 37-year-old has amassed 2964 runs in 100 matches so far, including one century and 25 fifties. He trails only former Australian captain Aaron Finch, who amassed 3120 runs in 103 T20Is.

By the time this story was filed, Australia had posted a 214-run target.

Playing XIs

Australia: David Warner, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh (c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff, Josh Hazlewood

West Indies: Brandon King, Johnson Charles, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shai Hope, Sherfane Rutherford, Rovman Powell (c), Andre Russell, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph