Aus vs Pak: Harsha Bhogle ‘excited’ to see Saim Ayub in Sydney Test

The left-handed batter emerged as one of the finest talents in 2023

By Web Desk
January 02, 2024
"Excited to see Saim Ayub. I've heard a lot about him," said Harsha Bhogle (L) on Saim Ayub (R). —X/BhogleHarsha/PCB

Renowned Indian commentator Harsha Bhogle showed his excitement to see Pakistan’s left-handed batter Saim Ayub in the third Test against Australia which will start on January 3 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Saim emerged as one of the finest batters in recent times. He announced himself to the world during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 this year and then supplemented that with consistent display with the bat in domestic cricket and T20 leagues in different countries.

The 21-year-old will be making his red-ball debut for Pakistan in Sydney and Bhogle, just like the world, is excited to see him play on Australian soil.

Bhogle weighed in on the decision to bench Shaheen Afridi, who, according to skipper Shan Masood, has been rested to manage his workload.

“Big call to be without Shaheen Afridi for the Sydney Test. I thought Pakistan's key bowlers would be Shaheen and Abrar but looks a bit thin without them. Excited to see Saim Ayub. I've heard a lot about him,” Bhogle posted on X, formerly Twitter.

It must be noted that Australia lead the three-match series by 2-0 and announced an unchanged playing XI for the last Test.

On the other hand, Pakistan included Saim over Imam-ul-Haq, as the management showed discontent with the 28-year-old’s lack of intent during the series.

The other change in Pakistan’s playing XI is the inclusion of spinner Sajid Khan over Shaheen.

It is worth mentioning that Pakistan have never won a Test series on Australian soil and Shan Masood-led unit would look to register their first win Down Under since 1995.

Playing XIs for the Sydney Test

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (capt), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

Pakistan: Saim Ayub, Abdullah Shafique, Shan Masood (capt), Babar Azam, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Rizwan, Agha Salman, Hasan Ali, Sajid Khan, Mir Hamza, Aamer Jamal.


    Tariq commented 6 months ago

    I'm also excited to see him in tests