Pat Cummins takes a dig at Mohammad Hafeez

Hafeez stated that the visitors played better 'than the other team'

By Web Desk
December 29, 2023
Pat Cummins and Mohammad Hafeez - AFP

Australia on Friday triumphed over Pakistan in the second Test match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, securing a 2-0 lead in the ongoing series.

Nonetheless, the victory has been clouded by controversy due to Mohammad Rizwan's dismissal, prompting Pakistan's team director Mohammad Hafeez to criticise the officiating. Hafeez stated that the visitors played better 'than the other team.'

“The whole game I will sum up, our Pakistan team played better than the other team in general,” he said after the match.

In response, the Boxing Day Test player of the match smiled before declaring; “Ahhhh. Cool. They played well. I am glad we got the win.”

“It doesn’t really matter, does it? It is the team who wins at the end,” Cummins said.

"As a team, it was just a huge year in all formats. We had a lot of success and to top it off by winning a series at home, which we pride ourselves on doing, is pretty satisfying," the Australian skipper said, stating that he was also very happy with his own bowling.

“Personally, I think I'm really happy for a few reasons. Probably the one main reason is it is the best that I felt like I have bowled for a little while,” Cummins said.

“My rhythm felt really good. I felt like I had good pace. I knew where my wrist was. I could control the seam. I bowled some good bounces. So I felt really happy with how I was bowling."

Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan was given out in a controversial manner during the ongoing second Test against Australia in Melbourne.

Cummins appealed for a caught behind in the 61st over of Pakistan’s second innings but the umpire gave it not out. However, the Australia captain decided to review the decision as he thought Rizwan might have gloved it.

After the third umpire took a look at the appeal from different angles and reckoned that there was a spike as the ball passed the wrist band so the on-field umpire was asked to change his decision.

However, the hotspot showed no mark as Rizwan looked away from the ball at the last second. Rizwan, who was sure that he didn't get anything on it, went back to the hut in utter disbelief.

Rizwan was batting on 35 runs, with Pakistan 98 runs away from victory, when the incident took place.

Comments

    Nadeem Ali commented 7 months ago

    Being a part of this Cricketing World I congratulate Australia for their Wins but, Hafeez is rightly Pointing out the unfair "Empire's Call" rule. "When Ball hitting the stump, MUST be OUT". Its for All Not only for Pakistan dear and I,too,personally believes in it.

    Abdullah commented 7 months ago

    Hafeez has not other things to do but insult other