'Once in a lifetime': Netizens react over viral not out dismissal

This moment took place during an ACT 3rd grade game in Australia's capital Canberra

By Web Desk
December 10, 2023
The umpires didn't give it out since the bails were not removed while the middle stump was also intact in the ground - Cricket ACT/X

There have been various instances where cricket has given unbelievable instances. Whether it's regarding dismissal or any other general rule which a common cricket fan is unaware of.

One of the instances took place in Australia's capital Canberra during an ACT third grade game between Western Districts against Ginninderra where the ball hit the wicket, however, the middle stump was not removed from the ground while bails were also not dislodged.

Subsequently, umpires didn't give it out.

As per Law 29.1 of the MCC Laws of cricket, the bail has to be fully dislodged for a batter to be given out while a stump should also be removed completely,

"The wicket is broken when at least one bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or one or more stumps is removed from the ground," Law 29.1 read.

Cricket ACT shared the picture on X (formerly Twitter) and asked the fans how was this possible.

"Things you don't see every day... Explain this one from a Ginninderra-Wests game for us, cricket fans – how was this possible?" the caption read.

Meanwhile, the netizens shared their different opinion on this and most of them were shocked.

Here are few reactions: