Australian Prime Minister hosts Pakistan team at Parliament House in Canberra

A four-day match between Pakistan and PM’s XI is set to kick off in Canberra on December 6

By Web Desk
December 05, 2023
Pakistan team at Canberra's Parliament House - PCB

The Pakistan men's cricket team attended an event in Canberra on Tuesday hosted by Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese at the Parliament House.

A significant event awaits as a four-day match between Pakistan and PM’s XI is set to kick off in Canberra on Wednesday, December 6, 2023, followed by the Test series against Australia starting December 14 at the Perth Stadium.

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese extended a warm welcome to both teams, expressing hope for an enjoyable match between PM’s XI and the Pakistan side. He also conveyed optimism about the impending Test series, acknowledging Pakistan's quality as a team.

During the event, Pakistan Test captain Shan Masood highlighted the historical significance of this fixture, which has been played since 1951. He expressed immense delight in facing off against the Prime Minister's XI, stressing the team's resilience as a formidable competitor.

The captain reassured that Pakistan is not just ready and eager for this match but is also prepared to tackle the challenges posed by the upcoming Test series against Australia.

Shan Masood will be leading Pakistan in his first assignment as Test captain. He was named Pakistan's captain for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle after taking over the reins from Babar Azam last month.

Meanwhile, Australia will be captained by Pat Cummins, who recently led his side to the 50-over World Cup title in India, during the series.

The first Test in Perth will be followed by a fixture in Melbourne, from December 26-30. Sydney will host the last game of the tour from January 3-7, 2024.


Australia: (first Test only): Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner

Pakistan: Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Series schedule

First Test: December 14-18, Perth

Second Test: December 26-30, Melbourne

Third Test: January 3-7, Sydney