Euro 2024: Italy, Spain, Croatia included in ‘Group of Death’

The much-awaited European championship will begin in June in Germany

By Web Desk
December 03, 2023
Euro 2024 trophy. — UEFA

Euro 2024 is set to be played in Germany across 10 different cities from June 14 to July 14 where 24 teams will fight for the elusive title including the defending champions Italy who have been included in the “Group of Death” alongside Spain, Croatia and Albania.

Ten cities have been chosen as venues across Germany – Berlin, Cologne, Dortmund, Dusseldorf, Frankfurt, Gelsenkirchen, Hamburg, Leipzig, Munich and Stuttgart.

The tournament begins with the hosts Germany taking on Scotland in Munich on June 14 as they are placed in Group A alongside Hungary and Switzerland.

The Euro 2024 will be played among 24 teams which are divided into six groups of four.

Here are all the groups and teams

Group A: Germany (hosts), Scotland, Hungary and Switzerland

GROUP B: Spain, Croatia, Italy and Albania

GROUP C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia and England

GROUP D: Play-off winner A (Poland/Wales/Finland/Estonia), Netherlands, Austria and France

GROUP E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania and Play-off winner B (Israel/Bosnia/Ukraine/Iceland)

GROUP F: Turkey, Play-off winner C (Georgia/Greece/Kazakhstan/Luxembourg), Portugal and Czech Republic

Matches to watch in the group stage:

Spain vs Italy

Spain vs Croatia

Germany vs Hungary

England vs Denmark

Netherlands vs France

Turkey vs Portugal

The final of the event will be played on July 14 in Berlin, Germany's capital.

It must be noted that Italy beat England 3-2 on penalties in the Euro 2020 final after the match ended 1-1 in regular plus extra time at Wembley Stadium on July 12, 2021.

Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho and Bukayo Saka failed to convert their penalties from the spot which eventually ended England’s dreams of being crowned as European champion.

Euro 2020 was played a year later due to the outbreak of COVID-19 which stopped all sporting activities for the year 2020.

Euro winners of this century:

Year Winner
Euro 2000France
Euro 2004Greece
Euro 2008Spain
Euro 2012Spain
Euro 2016Portugal
Euro 2020Italy