Todd Murphy shares his excitement of bowling to Babar Azam

Murphy expressed that it is a great opportunity for him to start the cricketing summer

By Web Desk
November 29, 2023
Todd Murphy talked specially about Babar Azam - AFP

Australian cricketer Todd Murphy expressed his anticipation and excitement of bowling Babar Azam as he gears up to face Pakistan in the upcoming cricketing summer, highlighting the formidable challenges that lie ahead.

"Bowling to Pakistan's top order batters would be a challenge," acknowledged Murphy, emphasising the skill and prowess of Pakistan's batsmen.

Speaking specifically about the 29-year-old Murphy praised Babar Azam, stating, "Babar Azam is a very good player, and Pakistan's top order boasts players with great class. I am not sure if Babar Azam is playing against PM XI, but it would be exciting to bowl against him. It's always great to get a chance to test yourself against a test-playing nation."

Answering to a question regarding Ricky Ponting's recent statement about Pakistan's bowling attack, Todd Murphy stated "Playing against Pakistan would be a huge challenge. Pakistan has a good bowling attack, and I don't agree with the statement that they have a weak bowling attack."

Highlighting the significance of the upcoming series, Murphy expressed that it is a great opportunity for him to start the cricketing summer. "It's always a great opportunity to play in front of family, friends, and fans. The atmosphere and support make it a special experience," he added.

Acknowledging the strength of the Australian team's opposition, Murphy noted, "Nathan Lyon is a top-class player. He always provides a lot of wisdom, and playing alongside him is a great learning experience."

The Pakistan cricket team will play their first Test match against Australia in Perth from December 14 to 18, followed by a Test match in Melbourne, from 26. Sydney will host the last game of the tour from January 3, 2024.

The squad is set to depart from Lahore on November 30.

Test squad

Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.