David Warner to miss India T20I tour ahead of Pakistan Test series

The left-handed batter was one of Australia's best performers in the World Cup 2023

By Web Desk
November 21, 2023
David Warner amassed 535 runs in the World Cup 2023. — ICC

Australian left-handed batter David Warner is set to miss a five-match T20I series against India which is scheduled to take place between November 23 and December 3.

Warner decided to rest ahead of a three-match Test series against Pakistan at home, which will be his last in the longer-format before calling time on his red-ball career.

Warner, along with some multi-format players, will miss the T20I series to rest and prepare for the Test series which begins on December 14 in Perth.

Australian ODI and Test skipper Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Cameroon Green, Mitchell Marsh and Mitchell Starc are also the players who will travel to their country instead of participating in the series.

Australia clinched the ICC World Cup 2023 by beating India in a one-sided matter by six wickets and extended their tally to six titles.

Warner was one of the most important players for Cummins as the 37-year-old amassed 535 runs at an impressive average of 48.63.

Although the T20I series is starting just four days after the World Cup 2023 ended, it is crucial in building up for the 2024 T20 World Cup which will be played in the United States of America and West Indies.

Australia, the winners of the 2021 T20 World Cup, will have six more T20Is to play before the commencement of the tournament.

The Aussies’ squad for the T20I series against India includes seven players who were part of the World Cup squad but the team will be lead by Matthew Wade, who captained them to a 3-0 win against South Africa in September.


Australia: Matthew Wade (c), David Warner, Travis Head, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Josh Inglis, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Spencer Johnson, Adam Zampa, Tanveer Sangha.

India: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

India’s Shreyas Iyer will join the team as vice-captain for the last two T20Is.

Schedule of the matches

November 23 — India vs Australia 1st T20I

November 26 — India vs Australia 2nd T20I

November 28 — India vs Australia 3rd T20I

December 1 — India vs Australia 4th T20I

December 5 — India vs Australia 5th T20I