ICC reveals World Cup 2023 Team of the Tournament

The mega event was held in India and won by Australia

By Web Desk
November 20, 2023
Australia's Glenn Maxwell and India's Virat Kohli looks on. - Reuters

The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the World Cup 2023 Team of the Tournament on Monday.

The lineup features players from champions Australia, runners-up India, semi-finalists South Africa and New Zealand, as well as Sri Lanka.  

The team of the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 (in batting order) is:

Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59.40

Rohit Sharma (c) (India) – 597 runs at 54.27

Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.62

Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs at 69

KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.33

Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55

Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87

Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 18.65

Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets at 25

Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 22.39

Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10.70

12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80

The selection panel consisted of Ian Bishop, Kass Naidoo, Shane Watson (Commentators), Wasim Khan (ICC General Manager, Cricket) and Sunil Vaidya (Journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror).

It must be noted that Australia won a record-extending sixth 50-overs World Cup title after opener Travis Head smashed a brilliant ton to secure their six-wicket victory against India on Sunday.

Asked to bat first, India rode battling half-centuries by KL Rahul and Virat Kohli to post a below-par 240 all out in exactly 50 overs at a packed Narendra Modi Stadium.

Australia suffered a top order wobble of their own but Head's 137 off 120 balls saw them romp home with seven overs to spare in match that never reached great heights.


    Invincible commented 8 months ago

    It's not a team of the tournament it's a team of Bcci