India’s horrific run in ICC tournaments continues

The Blues lost the World Cup final against Australia in Ahmedabad

By Web Desk
November 20, 2023
India´s players react as they walk back to the pavilion at the end of the World Cup final. — AFP

The Indian cricket team lost the ICC World Cup 2023 final against Australia by six wickets at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, on November 19, Sunday, and continued their terrible run in ICC tournaments.

India’s golden era started in 2007 when former captain MS Dhoni led them to T20 World Cup glory by beating Pakistan in the final. Four years after winning their first ICC trophy of this century, the Blues bagged the ODI World Cup at home and in 2013 they clinched the Champions Trophy.

Many thought that India would go on to win many tournaments but things didn’t go their way and they have, since 2013, been searching for an ICC title for over 10 years now and the search would continue for at least seven more months.

India’s record in ICC tournaments since 2014

T20 World Cup 2014 Defeat in final
ICC World Cup 2015Defeat in semi-final
T20 World Cup 2016Defeat in semi-final
ICC Champions Trophy 2017Defeat in final
T20 World Cup 2019Defeat in semi-final
ICC World Test Championship 2021Defeat in final
T20 World Cup 2022Defeat in semi-final
ICC World Test Championship 2023Defeat in final
ICC World Cup 2023Defeat in final

India's next shot at an ICC title can be in June 2024 when the T20 World Cup would be held in the United States of America and West Indies. 

It must be noted that Pat Cummins guided Australia to their record-extending sixth World Cup in history.

It is worth mentioning that just within the span of two years, Australia have now won all three ICC trophies — T20 World Cup, World Test Championship and ODI World Cup — proving why they are the greatest cricketing nation without a single doubt.

Earlier, Travis Head was the star of the night for the mighty Aussies as the left-handed smashed Indian bowlers all over the ground and scored 137 runs on 120 balls with 15 fours and four sixes.

Head was greatly supported by a calm and composed Marnus Labuschagne as the right-hander started his innings slowly and played while rotating the strike, providing Head the room to find the moments and hit boundaries.

The two batters built a formidable 192-run partnership which guided Australia to yet another title triumph.

Batting first, Indian batters, who performed throughout the tournament, couldn't do it on the tricky Ahmedabad wicket and, apart from some batters, all failed considerably as six of their players failed to score in double digits.

KL Rahul (66), Virat Kohli (54) and Rohit Sharma (47) were the top run getters for the Indian side as they were all out for just 240 runs in 50 overs.