Haris Rauf bags unwanted record in World Cup 2023 game against England

Rauf has conceded runs at an economy of 6.74 at the time of writing

By Web Desk
November 11, 2023
Haris Rauf - ICC

Pakistan fast bowler Haris Rauf bagged an unwanted record for conceding the most runs in a single edition of a World Cup during the league match against England at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Saturday.

Rauf surpassed the previous record of 526 runs set by England leg-spinner Adil Rashid in 2019. Sri Lanka fast bowler Dilshan Madushanka came close to setting the record but finished his 2023 World Cup campaign just a run behind with 525 runs in nine innings.

Despite taking 15 wickets in nine innings, Rauf has conceded runs at an economy of 6.74.

Rauf is now the fourth bowler to concede more than 500 runs in a single edition of the World Cup.

Most runs conceded in a single World Cup:

Haris Rauf (PAK) - 533 in 9 innings in 2023

Adil Rashid (ENG) - 526 in 11 innings in 2019

Dilshan Madushanka (SL) - 525 in 9 innings in 2023

Mitchell Starc (AUS) - 502 in 10 innings in 2019

Mustafizur Rahman (BAN) - 484 in 8 innings in 2019

Defending champions England posted a massive total score of 337 runs against Pakistan. They reached the total, losing nine wickets after 50 overs, establishing a decent foundation with a couple of big partnerships.

Opting to bat, England got a flying start with their opening pair, Dawid Malan (39) and Jonny Bairstow (59), adding 82 runs in 13.3 overs.

Joe Root (60) and Ben Stokes (84) then came in the middle and took the momentum, making a 132-run stand between them.

In the late overs, skipper Jos Buttler (27) and Harry Brook (30) played cameos to put the team on a high and set the huge 338-run target.

Haris Rauf took three wickets for Pakistan, while each of Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Wasim Jr got two.

Playing XIs:

England: Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Jos Buttler (c & wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Gus Atkinson, Adil Rashid.

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Agha Salman, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf.