WATCH: Saim Ayub smashes brilliant 179 in fifth round of Pakistan Cup

This is the competitor's highest individual score thus far in this competition

By Web Desk
November 09, 2023
Saim Ayub - PCB

Pakistan Cup 2023–24's fifth round saw Peshawar, Karachi Whites, Multan, and FATA win their respective matches at four locations in Rawalpindi, AJK, and Abbottabad. The only game of the round not affected by bad weather saw FATA defeat Lahore Whites by six wickets in a low-scoring match.

Weather and poor lighting affected the remaining three matches, and the DLS method was used to determine the results. Rawalpindi was defeated by Karachi Whites by 72 runs thanks to a brilliant century from Saim Ayub.

Rawalpindi v Karachi Whites at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

At Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Karachi Whites were put into bat first by Rawalpindi and amassed a massive total of 364-7 in the 45 overs allocated. The highlight of the event was Saim Ayub, who smashed 179 from 125, including 15 fours and 11 sixes. This is the competitor's highest individual score thus far in this competition.

A half-century (57, 43b, 6x4s, 2x6s) was also produced by Asad Shafiq. Each of the seven bowlers from Rawalpindi returned having taken a wicket.

In return, Rawalpindi only managed 169-5 in 27 overs before rain interfered. Abdul Faseeh (54, 45b, 9x4s, 1x6) and Umar Amin (44, 27b, 5x4s, 2x6s) were the major contributors to the bat. Left-arm spinner Noman Ali got three wickets while Asad Shafiq returned with two scalps as well. Karachi Whites were awarded a 72-run victory, as per DLS.

Faisalabad v Peshawar at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

At Pindi Cricket Stadium, Peshawar defeated Faisalabad by scoring 264 all out in 45 overs after being sent to bat first. The highest scorers for the side were Captain Sahibzada Farhan (66, 106b, 9x4s) and Kamran Ghulam (63, 46b, 7x4s, 2x6s). Arshad Iqbal, a right-arm bowler, claimed five wickets. Following a collision, Faheem Ashraf and Ali Shan left the pitch due to possible concussions. Faheem's replacement was announced as Muhammad Huraira, and Ali Shan was replaced by Irfan Khan Niazi.

In response, Faisalabad could only reach 142-7 in 27.3 overs before poor light prevented any more play. The only two standout hitters for the team were Mohammad Saleem (27, 41b) and Asif Ali (30, 27b, 2x4s, 1x6). Each of the pacers Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan, and Muhammad Ilyas got two wickets. DLS gave Peshawar a victory margin of 68 runs.

Multan v Lahore Blues at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad

Multan won the toss and chose to bowl first in the rain-affected encounter, which saw the Lahore Blues reach 257-7 in the allotted 40 overs at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium. The team's highest scorers were Hussain Talat (70, 56b, 9x4s) and Rizwan Hussain (62, 79b, 9x4s). With three wickets to his name, Tahir Hussain was Multan's best bowler.

Multan was only able to bat for 21.2 overs before inclement weather prevented more play. Sharjeel Khan's rapid-fire half-century (82, 63b, 8x4s, 5x6s) helped them score 163–4. Multan defeated the Lahore Blues by 37 runs thanks to Sohaib Maqsood's 33 off 35 deliveries, which included three fours and a six. Ali Shafiq, Umaid Asif, Hussain Talat and Usman Qadir took a wicket each.

FATA v Lahore Whites at Mirpur Cricket Stadium, AJK

At Mirpur Cricket Stadium, FATA's choice to bowl first proved advantageous as they dismissed the Lahore Whites for just 128 in 38.1 overs. The team's top scorer, Ahmed Daniyal, finished with 32 from 42, including three fours and a six. To the total, Fahad Munir contributed 27 off 44 balls, which included three boundaries. Shahid Aziz claimed two wickets, while Asif Afridi and Khushdil Shah both claimed three.

FATA responded by scoring 130–4 in 22.1 overs. The three players who contributed the most with the bat were Samiullah Jr. (33, 58b, 3x4s), Mohammad Sarwar Afridi (34 not out, 28b, 4x4s, 1x6), and Mohammad Farooq (40, 30b, 6x4s). Asadullah and Aamer Jamal returned with a wicket apiece, but Mohammad Rameez Jr. claimed two wickets.