ICC World Cup 2023: PCB provides Shadab Khan concussion update

All-rounder will miss match against Bangladesh today

By Web Desk
October 31, 2023
Pakistan's Shadab Khan looks dejected as he walks after losing his wicket, caught by South Africa's Keshav Maharaj off the bowling of Gerald Coetzee. - Reuters

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) provided an update about all-rounder Shadab Khan, who suffered a concussion during his side’s match against South Africa on Friday.

Shadab got injured as he landed awkwardly on his shoulder, hitting his head on the ground, after he moved towards the ball and hurled it towards the stumps from mid-on.

Shadab will also miss today’s match against Bangladesh as well.

“Shadab Khan suffered a concussion in Pakistan’s match vs South Africa. After a thorough assessment, the medical panel had no choice but to rule him out of the match against Bangladesh,” PCB said in a press release.

“This was Shadab’s third concussion since September last year. He had a collision with his Sussex teammate while fielding in the Vitality T20 Blast in May this year and previously during Asia Cup final last year in Dubai, when his head crashed into Asif Ali’s elbow while fielding.

“Every precaution is being taken, keeping in mind his health and wellbeing. He will continue to be assessed over the coming days.”

It must be noted that Usama Mir was brought in as a concussion substitute in place of the 24-year-old as he was unable to field or bowl after suffering a concussion against South Africa. 

Usama is also part of Pakistan's side for the match against Bangladesh. 

Pakistan’s remaining ICC World Cup 2023 matches

October 31 - vs Bangladesh in Kolkata

November 4 - vs New Zealand Bengaluru (Day match)

November 11 - vs England in Kolkata

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan