Saim Ayub creates history in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24 final

Saim Ayub had made 203 in the first innings and 109 in the second

By Web Desk
October 24, 2023
Saim Ayub had made 203 in 259 balls in the first innings and 109 in the second - PCB

Saim Ayub became the first cricketer to score a hundred and a double-hundred in a Quaid-e-Azam Trophy final in the showpiece clash for the 2023/24 edition.

Opening the batting for the Karachi Region Whites, Saim Ayub had made 203 in 259 balls in the first innings after the Faisalabad Region opted to bowl at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Ayub added 379 for the second wicket with Shan Masood (180) to help Karachi Whites amass 543. Mir Hamza (5-44) and Shahnawaz Dahani (4-50) then bowled out Faisalabad for 124.

Despite the 419-run lead, Karachi Whites captain Sarfaraz Ahmed chose to bat again – perhaps because there were well over three days left in the match. This time Ayub made 109, becoming the first to follow a double ton and a ton in the final of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Pakistan cricketers to score a double hundred and another hundred in the same first-class match:

256 and 102*: Salahuddin, Karachi v East Pakistan (Karachi 1968/69)

216* and 156*: Zaheer Abbas, Gloucestershire v Surrey (The Oval 1976)

230* and 104*: Zaheer Abbas, Gloucestershire v Kent (Canterbury 1976)

205* and 108*: Zaheer Abbas, Gloucestershire v Sussex (Cheltenham 1977)

141 and 222: Saadat Ali, Income Tax Department v Multan (Multan 1977/78)

214* and 104: Talat Ali, Pakistan International Airlines v Punjab (Lahore 1978/79)

129 and 217*: Shafiq Ahmed, National Bank of Pakistan v Muslim Commercial Bank (Karachi 1978/79)

215* and 150*: Zaheer Abbas, Gloucestershire v Somerset (Bath 1981)

210* and 110: Qasim Umar, Muslim Commercial Bank v Lahore City (Lahore 1982/83)

139 and 217*: Rizwan-uz-Zaman, Pakistan International Airlines v Pakistan Automobiles Corporation (Lahore 1989/90)

205 and 102*: Mohammad Ramzan, Faisalabad v Sargodha (Faisalabad 2000/01)

106 and 202*: Younis Khan, Yorkshire v Hampshire (Southampton 2007)


– The only cricketers to score two double-hundreds in the same first-class match are Arthur Fagg (244 and 202*, Kent v Essex, Colchester 1938) and Angelo Perera (201 and 231, Nondescripts Cricket Club v Sinhalese Sports Club, Colombo 2018/19).

– The last person to achieve this is Luis Reece (131 and 201*, Derbyshire v Glamorgan, Derby 2023)

Karachi Whites were 238-5 at stumps on day three of this five-day clash. They lead by 657 runs.


    Mrs FaWwAd commented 9 months ago

    Baber azam please isee le jao world cup mee yeh hee kch kar legaa