Mari Petroleum clinches national hockey title

The 67th Hockey Championship final went down to the wire

October 24, 2023
Mari Petroleum win National Hockey title. The News/File

RAWALPINDI: Etisham Aslam scored on the second sudden-death penalty shoot-out to give Mari Petroleum their first-ever AWT National Hockey Championship title following an action-packed final at the Ishfaq Nadeem Stadium Rawalpindi Monday evening.

The 67th Hockey Championship final went down to the wire with both teams getting locked at 1-1 following four quarters of scheduled play. Five penalty shootouts saw both teams scoring twice each. 

On the first sudden death penalty shoot-out both sides missed the target. On the second sudden-death shootout Rana Waheed missed for Wapda with Etisham scoring the goal for Mari Petroleum to give them their first-ever national title.

With PM Anwar ul Haq Kakar in the audience, both teams gave their hearts out during the scheduled time by playing exciting hockey. Naveed Mukhtar Managing Director of Army Welfare Trust (AWT) and President PHF Brig (rtd) Khalid Sajjad Khokhar were also present on the occasion.

Abdul Mohi Shah is a senior reporter for The News