'Babar Bhai': Pakistan captain gets love from Indian fans at Hyderabad airport

Babar Azam acknowledged the passionate crowd by waving and smiling at fans

By Web Desk
September 27, 2023
Pakistan team receive hero welcome upon arrival in India - AFP

Pakistan Cricket Team received a warm and spirited welcome upon their arrival at the Hyderabad airport for the World Cup 2023 India, accompanied by tight security measures to ensure their safe passage to the team bus.

The fervent enthusiasm of fans, coupled with chants of "Babar Azam" and "Shaheen Afridi," created an electrifying atmosphere as the players made their way from the airport to the waiting bus.

Babar Azam, the captain of the Pakistan cricket team, acknowledged the passionate crowd by waving and smiling at fans who affectionately called out "Babar Bhai."

The exchange between the skipper and his adoring supporters was a heartwarming sight, showcasing the deep connection for Pakistan team and their fans in India.

Security forces, while maintaining a vigilant presence, also displayed a friendly side. In a heartening gesture, one of the security personnel engaged in a conversation with Shaheen Afridi, capturing the historic moments on camera.

Remember, Pakistan landed in Hyderabad to participate in ICC Men's World Cup. Pakistan team was accompanied by more than 20 security cars as Babar Azam and his team moved to their hotel.

The national team left at 3.20am earlier today from Lahore airport and made a brief stopover in Dubai before taking a flight to India's Hyderabad.

Pakistan’s travel contingent consisted of 18 players and 13-player support personnel.

Less than 48 hours after landing in India, Pakistan will play their first warmup game against New Zealand on September 29 in Hyderabad.

Meanwhile, their last warmup match will be against Australia on October 3, three days before they begin their World Cup campaign by taking the Netherlands on October 6 at the same stadium.

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed,