Babar Azam fined for breaching traffic regulations in Lahore

The fine, totalling Rs2,000, was imposed for two violations

By Web Desk
September 25, 2023
Babar was stopped for a lane violation in Lahore's Gulberg -  X/@HamzaKhan259

Pakistan men's cricket team captain Babar Azam received a fine from the traffic authorities on September 17 in Lahore's Gulberg.

The fine, totalling Rs2,000, was imposed for two violations: driving without a valid driver's license and a lane violation.

Initially, Babar was stopped for a lane violation, but during the interaction with the police, it was discovered that he did not possess a valid driver's license.

Remember, Babar Azam will lead the Pakistan side in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup starting in India next month.

Earlier, the team was facing an uncertain situation due to a delay in the issuance of their visa by the Indian government. However, the uncertainty surrounding Pakistan's participation in the World Cup ended as India finally issued visas to the Pakistan team in the evening.

The ICC's confirmation came after the complaints of a delay in the process of visa issuance.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had written to the governing body complaining about a visa delay which, it said, had disrupted the team's preparation for the showpiece event across the border.

PCB spokesperson Umar Farooq confirmed to Reuters they have been asked to collect their passports from the Indian High Commission in Islamabad.

Babar Azam and Co. will play the first warm-up match on September 29 in Hyderabad followed by a second warm-up game at the same venue against Australia on October 3.

The Men in Green will start their World Cup campaign against the Netherlands on October 6 while they will also face Sri Lanka on October 10 at the same venue.

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan