WATCH: Azam Khan propels Guyana Warriors to final in CPL T20

The 25-year-old is considered one of the best T20 batters in the world

By Web Desk
September 23, 2023
Azam Khan plays a shot at extra cover. — CPL T20

Pakistan’s middle-order batter Azam Khan played one of the most destructive knocks on Friday night as Guyana Amazon Warriors thrashed Jamaica Tallawahs in a Qualifier in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T20 played in Guyana.

Azam, 25, is known for his hard-hitting, especially in the shorter format and that is exactly what he did.

The 25-year-old top-scored for the Warriors and played a blistering knock of 54 runs off just 27 balls courtesy of five fours and four sixes at a massive strike rate of 200.00.

The right-handed batter’s memorable knock helped his side post a colossal target of 183 runs for Tallawahs.

Azam terrorised the opposition’s bowlers, especially his countryman Mohammad Amir, as he hit the 31-year-old for a 6,4 and a 6 in the 19th over.

Another Pakistani batter, Saim Ayub, was playing for the Warriors. The 21-year-old cricketer opened the innings for his side but it was not his day as he departed for the pavilion after posting just 20 runs.

Tallawahs collapsed badly during their chase and only three batters could score in double digits.

Pakistan’s Imad Wasim, Alex Hales and Fabian Allen contributed in double digits as the remaining batters failed to create any impact from the bat.

Imad was the top scorer for the struggling side. He top-scored by scoring 43 off 33 balls but couldn’t take his team over the line as they were all sent back to the pavilion for just 101 runs in 15.2 overs.

Imran Tahir was the pick of the bowlers for the winning side. He picked up three crucial wickets in 2.2 overs for just seven runs.

Warriors made their way to the tournament’s final where they will take on Trinbago Knight Riders on September 24.


Jamaica Tallawahs: Brandon King (c), Alex Hales, Steven Taylor, Shamarh Brooks (wk), Imad Wasim, Raymon Reifer, Fabian Allen, Shamar Springer, Chris Green, Mohammad Amir, Nicholson Gordon

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Saim Ayub, Odean Smith, Shai Hope (wk), Azam Khan, Shimron Hetmyer, Dwaine Pretorius, Romario Shepherd, Kelvon Anderson, Gudakesh Motie, Ronsford Beaton, Imran Tahir (c)