PCB provides Naseem Shah injury update

He is set to be out of action for three to four months

By Web Desk
September 22, 2023
Naseem Shah suffered a shoulder injury during the Asia Cup 2023. - AFP

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) provided an injury update on pacer Naseem Shah on Friday.

The right-armer is likely to stay out of action for three to four months due to a shoulder injury, which he suffered during the Asia Cup 2023. He will also miss the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 in India.

“He [Naseem] had suffered a shoulder injury during Asia Cup in a match against India on 11 September and was ruled out of the tournament. Following thorough medical examinations and consultations with leading medical experts, Naseem has been advised to undergo surgery. He is expected to recover in three to four months,” PCB said in a press release on Friday. 

Speedster Hasan Ali has replaced the injured Naseem in Pakistan’s squad. 

“Naseem Shah unfortunately got injured and he's our main bowler. Hasnain had an ankle operation. lhsanullah had an elbow operation. We had few options left among fast bowlers due to injuries,” chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said in a press conference on Friday while announcing the squad for the ICC World Cup 2023. 

“Hasan Ali bowled well in the LPL and elsewhere recently. He is experienced and has played well for Pakistan previously in big events. Once Naseem Shah was ruled out, we also needed a bowler who could bowl with the new ball, and I think Hasan Ali is a great choice. He bowls well with the old ball too and is a team man as well. He brings energy into the team,” he added.

Ali last played an ODI match for Pakistan in 2022 against West Indies in Multan.

The squad will be led by prolific batter Babar Azam.

Pakistan made two changes to the squad which played in the Asia Cup 2023 with all-rounder Faheem Ashraf excluded and wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris dropping down to reserves.

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan