Mohammad Hafeez steps down from PCB Technical Committee

Hafeez's decision to step down from the committee comes after his tenure of just under two months

By Web Desk
September 21, 2023
Mohammad Hafeez during 2022 T20 World Cup - ICC

Former captain Mohammad Hafeez announced his resignation from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Technical Committee on Thursday.

Hafeez, who served as an honorary member of the committee, made the announcement on X (formerly known as Twitter), expressing his gratitude to Zaka Ashraf and extending his best wishes to Pakistan cricket.

Hafeez's decision to step down from the committee comes after his tenure of just under two months. He was also part of the meeting taking place yesterday chaired by Zaka Ashraf to review the Pakistan Men’s cricket team's performance in the ACC Asia Cup 2023.

The National coaching staff headed by Mickey Arthur, head coach Grant Bradburn, batting coach Andrew Puttick, bowling coach Morne Morkel, captain Babar Azam and vice-captain Shadab Khan were also part of the meeting.

In his post, Hafeez stated, "I decided to quit from Pakistan cricket technical committee. I served as an honorary member. I would like to thank Zaka Ashraf sb for giving me this opportunity. My best wishes for Pakistan cricket as always. Pakistan Zindabad 🇵🇰."

Remember, PCB appointed former Test cricketer Misbah-ul-Haq as the head of the high-profile Cricket Technical Committee last month.

The committee included former Test cricketers Inzamam-ul-Haq and Mohammad Hafeez. However, Inzamam was later named Pakistan's chief selector.

The committee was made to provide recommendations on cricket-related matters, including, but not limited to the overall domestic structure, scheduling, playing conditions, the appointment of the national selection committees, the appointment of national team coaches, central and domestic contracts and plans for the development of umpires, referees and curators.

They will also have the power to invite additional cricket experts and shall report to the head of the PCB Management Committee on a regular basis.