WATCH: Players' family members announce New Zealand's squad for World Cup

NZC have named a 15-member squad

By Web Desk
September 11, 2023
Families of New Zealand men's cricket team - Twitter/@BlackCaps

In an extraordinary twist, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) unveiled their ODI World Cup squad with a heartfelt touch.

Instead of the usual formal announcements, the children, spouses, fiancée, grandmother, and parents of the cricketers took the stage to reveal the New Zealand squad by sharing their respective cap numbers.

The captivating video commenced with Kane Williamson's wife and their children proudly announcing the ODI cap number of the New Zealand skipper. Following this, Trent Boult's sons stepped up, who is poised to lead the Blackcaps' pace attack.

The wives of Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, and Ish Sodhi gracefully followed suit, one by one, unveiling the cap numbers of their husbands.

The daughters of Daryl Mitchell and Tim Southee also graced the video, introducing their beloved fathers. Lockie Ferguson's fiancée chimed in with enthusiasm, revealing the all-rounder's cap number.

Other cherished figures appearing in the clip included Jimmy Neesham's grandmother, Will Young's mother, and Rachin Ravindra's proud parents.

Cricket enthusiasts worldwide were captivated by New Zealand's unprecedented approach to squad announcements. Since the video was posted on social media, a multitude of fans flooded the comment section, expressing their admiration for this innovative method.

One enthusiast promptly dubbed it the "best team announcement ever”.

Kane Williamson, set to lead New Zealand in his second ODI World Cup appearance as captain, is making a comeback after a knee injury sustained while fielding for the Gujarat Titans in the IPL back in March.

During his absence, Tom Latham admirably served as the interim white-ball captain of the Kiwis. Latham has now been officially designated as Williamson's deputy for the World Cup campaign.

New Zealand, the runners-up of the previous edition, will kick-start their journey in this year's tournament with a high-stakes match against reigning champions England on October 5 in Ahmedabad.

New Zealand squad

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young