New Zealand announce squad for ICC World Cup 2023

The mega event will be held in India

By Web Desk
September 11, 2023
Kane Williamson (L) will lead the side. - AFP

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced their squad for the ICC World Cup 2023, which will take place in India, on Monday.

The squad will be led by star batter Kane Williamson, who has made a quicker-than-expected recovery from a ruptured ACL at the IPL 2023.

Veteran pacer Tim Southee have also been named to appear at his fourth World Cup.

Adam Milne, who suffered a hamstring injury on New Zealand’s tour of England, has been ruled out of the mega event.

“It’s always a special time to name a tournament team and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It’s a great honour to represent your country at a World Cup," New Zealand coach Gary Stead said.

“From Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time it’s always a very exciting time.

“As with any squad named for an ICC tournament, there have been some tough calls and there will be some disappointed players.

“The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament.”

The ICC World Cup 2023 will take place in India with 10 teams fighting for the elusive title across 10 venues from October 5 to November 19, with the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad hosting the tournament opener and the final.

The Cricket World Cup will be played in the round-robin format with all teams playing against each other for a total of 45 league matches.

The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals, which will be held in Mumbai on November 15 and in Kolkata on November 16. The semi-finals and the final will have reserve days.

New Zealand squad

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young