Lanka Premier League: Points table after Jaffna Kings beat Colombo Strikers

The match was played in Colombo

By Web Desk
July 30, 2023
Thisara Perera celebrates after taking Babar Azam's wicket — SLC

Jaffna Kings defeated Colombo Strikers by 21 runs in the opening match of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023 in Colombo, on Sunday.

With the victory, Kings secured the first position.

Points Table

Lanka Premier League points table — ESPN Cricinfo

Strikers struggled from the very start after Thisara Perera removed Babar Azam with a tricky delivery for just seven runs.

After Azam’s wicket, it was Pathum Nissanka’s turn who as well could not do anything. He departed for the pavilion after scoring just one run.

Strikers’ skipper Niroshan Dickwella played a captain knock scoring 58 off 34 balls with a total of 10 boundaries.

Wickets did not stop falling and one by one, the Strikers lost all of their players for a total of 152 runs.

Kings’ bowlers were the difference makers. Especially Hardus Viljoen, who took three important wickets of Nissanka, Mohammad Nawaz and Ramesh Mendis.

While batting first Kings scored 173 in 20 overs with all of their batters scoring in double digits, displaying an all-round performance.

Five teams B-Love Kandy, Colombo Strikers, Dambulla Aura, Galle Titans, and Jaffna Kings are participating in the cricket tournament.

Lanka Premier League schedule of remaining matches:

July 31 — Galle Titans vs Dambulla Aura

July 31 — B Love Kandy vs Colombo Strikers

August 1 — Dambulla Aura vs Jaffna Kings

August 1 — Galle Titans vs B Love Kandy

August 4 — Colombo Strikers vs Galle Titans

August 4 — Dambulla Aura vs Jaffna Kings

August 5 — Galle Titans vs B-Love Kandy

August 7 — Jaffna Kings vs Colombo Strikers

August 7 — B-Love Kandy vs Dambulla Aura

August 7 — Galle Titans vs Jaffna Kings

August 8 — Colombo Strikers and Dambulla Aura

August 8 — B-Love Kandy vs Jaffna Kings

August 11 — Dambulla Aura vs Galle Titans

August 12 — Jaffna Kings vs B-Love Kandy

August 12 — Dambulla Aura vs Colombo Strikers

August 13 — Jaffna Kings vs Galle Titans

August 13 — Colombo Strikers vs B-Love Kandy

August 14 — B-Love Kandy vs Dambulla Aura

August 15 — Colombo Strikers vs Galle Titans

August 17 — First Qualifier

August 17 — Eliminator Match

August 19 — Second Qualifier

August 20 — Final