Eight Pakistan players to feature in Zim Afro T10 League 2023

The event will be held in Harare, Zimbabwe

By Web Desk
July 03, 2023
Mohammad Hafeez (R) and Mohammad Amir (L) are among the players who will participate in the event — PCB

Eight Pakistan cricketers will feature in the inaugural edition of the Zim Afro T10 League this year.

The squads of the teams were confirmed after the draft on Monday. Each team picked a minimum of 16 players, including at least six Zimbabweans.

The tournament will feature five teams which includes the Harare Hurricanes, Joburg Buffaloes, Durban Qalandars, Bulawayo Braves, and Cape Town Samp Army.

The event will be held in Harare between July 20 and July 29.

Pakistan players in Zim Afro T10 League 2023

Durban Qalandars

Asif Ali, Mohammed Amir, Mirza Tahir Baig and Tayyab Abbas

Harare Hurricanes

Shahnawaz Dahani

Johannesburg Buffaloes

Usman Shinwari and Mohammad Hafeez

Cape Town Samp Army

Mohammad Irfan

This is the first-time a franchise cricket tournament will become a part of Zimbabwe cricket.

All the teams will add another player to each of their squads in the coming days as five cricketers will be picked from Zimbabwe’s Emerging Player Programme, which is designed to provide the youngsters with a chance to break onto the big stage.

“This is a historic day for Zimbabwean cricket and we can’t wait to open up the doors for such talented cricketers. Each of the five squads look extremely strong and I am sure the cricket on display will be of the highest order. And I am delighted that the Zim Afro T10 will also give the young cricketers a boost as they will be rubbing shoulders with some of the best players in the world,” Zimbabwe Cricket Managing Director, Givemore Makoni, said.