ICC announces whopping prize money for World Test Championship

India will play against Australia in the championship's final

By Web Desk
May 26, 2023
Rohit Sharma (L) and Steve Smith (R) shaking hands during Test series - ESPNcricinfo

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced prize money for the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle. 

India, finalists of the inaugural edition of the Test Championship, will lock horns with Australia in the final of latest cycle from June 7-11 at The Oval, London. 

The total prize purse for the championship is $3.8 million. The winning team of the championship will bag $1.6 million whereas the runners-up will pocket $800,000. The winning prize money hasn't been changed from the inaugural edition which was won by New Zealand. The Black Caps beat India in the final in Southampton in 2021. 

South Africa will earn $450,000 for finishing third whereas England, who made a late surge and finished their campaign in fourth spot, will bag $350,000.

Sri Lanka, who missed final qualification by small margin, finished fifth to earn $200,000.

The remaining teams New Zealand (6th), Pakistan (7th), West Indies (8th), and Bangladesh (9th) will be rewarded with a sum of $100,000 each.

Rohit Sharma will lead India whereas Australia will be led by Pat Cummins. 


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (wk), Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav.

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner