Pakistan Shaheens stay alive in one-day series against Zimbabwe Select

Visitors won the fifth one-day by 177 runs

By Web Desk
May 25, 2023
Zimbabwe Select lead the six-match series 3-2 and need just one more win to clinch the trophy — PCB

Pakistan Shaheens thumped Zimbabwe Select by 177 runs in the fifth one-day of the series in Harare on Thursday.

Chasing a target of 315 runs, the home side were dismissed for 137 runs in 31.4 overs.

Spinner Qasim Akram and pacer Shahnawaz Dahani were the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan with three wickets each.

Wicketkeeper Clive Madande was the only Zimbabwe batter who offered some resistance with an unbeaten knock of 41 runs 46 balls.

Earlier, Pakistan Shaheens had set Zimbabwe Select a target of 315 runs.

The visitors posted 314-6 in 50 overs courtesy fifties by Imran Butt, Haseebullah Khan and Omair Bin Yousuf.

Openers Imran and Haseebullah provided Pakistan with a solid platform after adding 139 runs for the first wicket. Imran scored 64 in 65 balls, meanwhile Haseebullah notched up 62 in 77.

Omair Bin Yousuf, who scored a century in the previous match, was the highest run-scorer for Pakistan once again after remaining unbeaten on 89 runs in 87 balls. He smashed seven fours and a six during his impressive knock.

Brandon Mavuta claimed two wickets for the hosts while conceding 39 runs in eight overs. 

Zimbabwe Select lead the six-match series 3-2 and need just one more win to clinch the trophy.

The final match of the series will be played on May 27 at the same venue.


Pakistan Shaheens: Imran Butt (captain), Hussain Talat, Aamir Jamal (Islamabad), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (Quetta), Haseebullah (Quetta), Kamran Ghulam (Peshawar), Mehran Mumtaz (Rawalpindi), Mir Hamza (Karachi), Mohammad Ali (Sialkot), Mohammad Huraira (Sialkot), Mubasir Khan (Islamabad), Omair Bin Yousuf (Karachi), Qasim Akram (Lahore), Rohail Nazir (wicketkeeper) (Islamabad), Saim Ayub (Karachi) and Shahnawaz Dahani (Larkana).

Zimbabwe Select: Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Brad Evans, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza (c), Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams