One-day phase of women's Pakistan Cup begins tomorrow

The winning side will receive Rs1m

By Web Desk
May 22, 2023
The tournament will be played on double round robin basis — PCB

The one-day phase of the Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament begins on Tuesday, May 23, with three teams fighting it out for the trophy.

The seven-match event will be held at the State Bank Ground in Karachi, with the final set to played on June 4.

The winning side will receive Rs1m whereas the runners-up will bag Rs500,000. Meanwhile, each Player of the Match award winner will get Rs20,000 and the Player of the Tournament will get Rs50,000.

The tournament will be played on double round robin basis and the two teams finishing on top will play the final.

In a press release issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Muneeba Ali, the captain of Blasters, said: “This is a new format and provides a fresh start for us. I am hopeful that every player in the side will take responsibility and perform according to the expectations. It is important that we learn from the mistakes that we made in the T20 phase and do better.”

Meanwhile, Omaima Sohail, the captain of Challengers, said: “Our bowlers are in form and the top-order batters have scored runs. We are team that has a solid combination with experienced senior players and talented youngsters. I am hopeful that we will click as a unit and win.”

Sidra Amin, skipper of Dynamites, said: “The players have been responding well to the demands of the team and I am confident about our chances in this tournament. The results can go any way in cricket, so it is important to remain focused and grab opportunities with both hands. The senior players in the side have stepped up and done well.”


Blasters – Muneeba Ali (c), Aleena Shah, Anam Amin, Ayesha Bilal, Ayesha Javed, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Dua Majid, Irum Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Saba Nazir, Saiqa Riaz, Shabnam Hayat (wk), Zaib-un-Nissa and Zunaira Shah

Challengers – Omaima Sohail (c), Amber Kainaat, Areesha Noor, Fareeha Mehmood (wk), Fatima Zehra, Huraina Sajjad, Javeria Khan, Javeria Rauf, Kainat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Masooma Zehra, Noreen Yaqoob, Sadia Iqbal, Saima Malik and Warda Yousaf

Dynamites – Sidra Amin (c), Aima Saleem, Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Fajar Naveed, Fatima Shahid, Ghulam Fatima, Humna Bilal, Khadija Chishti, Laiba Nasir, Maham Manzoor, Nashra Sundhu, Rameen Shamim, Sidra Nawaz (wk) and Waheeda Akhtar


23 May – Blasters vs Dynamites, State Bank Ground

25 May –Blasters vs Challengers, State Bank Ground

27 May –Dynamites vs Challengers, State Bank Ground

29 May – Dynamites vs Blasters, State Bank Ground

31 May – Challengers vs Blasters, State Bank Ground

2 June – Challengers vs Dynamites, State Bank Ground

4 June – Final, State Bank Ground