Qasim Akram stars as Pakistan Shaheens beat Zimbabwe Select in third one-day

Zimbabwe lead series 2-1

By Web Desk
May 21, 2023
Pakistan registered their first win in the series - Zimbabwe Cricket

Pakistan Shaheens defeated Zimbabwe Select by five runs (DLS) in the third one-day of the six-match series in Harare.

Chasing a target of 279 runs, Pakistan Shaheens reached 263-8 in 46.5 overs before bad light stopped play. However, the visitors were five runs ahead on the DL Par Score when umpires decided that no further play was possible. 

Qasim Akram was the star of the show for Pakistan as he scored an explosive fifty. The youngster remained unbeaten on 57 runs in 40 balls, with the help of seven fours and a six. 

Wicketkeeper-batter Haseebullah Khan also added valuable 49 runs in 60 balls. Meanwhile, Mubasir Khan chipped in with 30 runs.

For Zimbabwe, pacer Tendai Chatara claimed figures of 4-53 in 9.5 overs.

Earlier, Zimbabwe Select set Pakistan Shaheens a target of 279 runs.

After being asked to bat first, Zimbabwe were dismissed for 278 on the final ball of the innings.

Sean Williams top-scored with 78 runs in 59 balls with the help of six fours and three sixes. Wessly Madhevere added 41 runs in 62 balls.

For Pakistan, Shahnawaz Dahani was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4-43 in 10 overs. Aamer Jamal also claimed three wickets but conceded 60 runs in his full quota of overs.

Zimbabwe Select led the series 2-1 after registering victories in the first two matches.

Akram bagged the award for Player of the Match for his match-winning knock. 

Schedule of remaining matches

23 May – 4th 50-over match; OH, Harare

25 May – 5th 50-over match; HSC, Harare

27 May – 6th 50-over match; HSC, Harare


Pakistan Shaheens: Imran Butt (captain), Hussain Talat, Aamir Jamal (Islamabad), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (Quetta), Haseebullah (Quetta), Kamran Ghulam (Peshawar), Mehran Mumtaz (Rawalpindi), Mir Hamza (Karachi), Mohammad Ali (Sialkot), Mohammad Huraira (Sialkot), Mubasir Khan (Islamabad), Omair Bin Yousuf (Karachi), Qasim Akram (Lahore), Rohail Nazir (wicketkeeper) (Islamabad), Saim Ayub (Karachi) and Shahnawaz Dahani (Larkana).

Zimbabwe A: Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Brad Evans, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza (c), Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams