Haris Rauf upbeat ahead of New Zealand series

The tour will include five T20Is and as many ODI matches

April 08, 2023
Haris Rauf reacts after taking a wicket — AFP

Pakistan speedster Haris Rauf is upbeat ahead of the limited-overs series against New Zealand on home soil.

Rauf, who was rested for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan recently, is eager to get back on the cricket field once again.

“I got rest after a long time so it will help me when I get back on the field. I’m physically fresh now and energy level is better than before,” Rauf told Geo News.

“It is an important series against New Zealand we will try to win it. The World Cup is also around the corner and this series will help us prepare for that.

“We are not thinking about the fact that the New Zealand team doesn’t have renowned players. They still have players with international experience in their squad.”

He was also satisfied to see that Pakistan have adequate resources in the fast bowling department.

“The competition is increasing for fast bowlers and it’s good that we have backup in this department,” he said. “Ihsanullah is also a good addition in our squad.”

“The cricketing world speaks very highly of Pakistan’s bowlers,” he added.

Pakistani Squads

T20I: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Zaman Khan

ODI: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Usama Mir. Reserves: Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed and Tayyab Tahir

Series schedule (T20Is to start at 9pm; ODIs to begin at 3.30pm):

14 Apr - 1st T20I, Lahore

15 Apr – 2nd T20I, Lahore

17 Apr – 3rd T20I, Lahore

20 Apr – 4th T20I, Rawalpindi

24 Apr – 5th T20I, Rawalpindi

27 Apr – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi

29 Apr – 2nd ODI, Rawalpindi

3 May – 3rd ODI, Karachi

5 May – 4th ODI, Karachi

7 May – 5th ODI, Karachi

Sohail Imran is a senior reporter for Geo News.