Haris Rauf raises PSL 8-winning trophy at Wagha Border

Lahore beat Multan to defend their PSL title

By Web Desk
March 23, 2023
Haris poses with PSL 8 trophy at Wagha Border - Lahore Qalandars

Lahore Qalandars' pacer Haris Rauf showed Pakistan Super League (PSL) eight-winning trophy at Wagha Border. 

Qalandars' management took PSL 8 accolade to Pakistan-India border in Lahore on Thursday. 

Alongside Haris, Pakistan's javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem, Test cricketer Abid Ali and PSL8 sensation Tahir Baig was also present during the trophy tour. 

Haris raised the trophy at Wagha Border and posed for pictures. Qalandars shared a video of this moment on social media. 

It is pertinent to mention here that Qalandars became first-ever team to defend PSL title this year. They beat Multan Sultans in final for second consecutive year to win PSL title. 

Qalandars defeated Sultans after a thrilling clash in the final. Chasing a daunting target of 201 runs, Sultans came close and lost the match by only one run.

During the run-chase, David Wiese provided the breakthrough in the fourth over of the innings after dismissing opener Usman Khan. The right-hander scored 18 runs in 12 balls.

Despite the early loss, Multan ensured that they kept up with the require run-rate as Rilee Rossouw and Mohammad Rizwan stitched an impressive partnership of 64 runs in 42 balls.

However, Rossouw was cleaned up by Rashid Khan just when the batter threatened to take the game away from Qalandars. The South African scored 52 runs in 32 balls.

Rashid struck once again in his last over as Rizwan, 34 off 23, perished while trying to clear the long-on boundary. It took a brilliant bit of fielding from David Wiese who caught the ball, kept his balance and then flicked the ball back in the air as he stepped over the rope before reestablishing himself back inside the boundary to complete the catch.

Shaheen, who conceded 34 runs in his first two overs, came back in his second spell to clinch the wicket of the dangerous Kieron Pollard. The Windies all-rounder scored 19 runs in 16 balls.

Shaheen also bagged three wickets in his final over to put Lahore in a strong position to win the match.

However, Haris Rauf conceded 22 runs in the penultimate over to ensure a thrilling finish to the match.

But Zaman Khan held his nerve to get his team over the line in the final over of the match.