Babar the most popular pick ahead of The Hundred Draft

The prolific batter topped the charts after securing 25 per cent of the votes

By Web Desk
March 23, 2023
Babar Azam is one of the best players in the world — AFP

Pakistan captain Babar Azam became the most pick in a fan poll ahead of The Hundred draft.

The prolific batter topped the charts after securing 25 per cent of the votes.

Azam’s teammate Shaheen Shah Afridi came in second place with eight per cent of the votes. Meanwhile, wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan was in fifth place with four per cent of the votes.

Teams will have the chance to finalise their squads in the Draft on Thursday (today). Each team will take it in turns to select a player, in reverse order of where they finished in the last year’s edition.

The players in the draft have a reserve price and they cannot be bought for less than that figure. But a team will have the option to splash the cash and spend more than a player’s reserve price.

A total of 64 players will be drafted on Thursday, which included 30 men and 34 women.

In the men's competition last year, Trent Rockets prevailed after defeating Manchester Originals in the championship match.

The Oval Invincibles, who defeated Southern Brave in a rematch of the 2021 final, prevailed in the women's competition to claim victory for the second time in a row.

Pakistan players who have signed up

Women: Diana Baig, Javeria Rauf, Iram Javed, Nida Dar, Fatima Sana, Aroob Shah, Muneeb Siddiqui and Maham Tariq.

Men: Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Amir, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Muhammad Akhlaq, Abrar Ahmed, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Umar Akmal, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Noman Ali, Salman Ali, Umaid Asif, Saim Ayub, Danish Aziz, Ammad Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani, Sameen Gul, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan, Salman Irshad, Ahmed Danyal, Aamir Jamal, Akif Javed, Azam Khan, Haseebullah Khan, Mubasir Khan, Sharjeel Khan, Sajid Khan, Umer Khan, Zaman Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Waqas Maqsood, Shan Masood, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Qadir, Rumman Raees, Wahab Riaz, Abdullah Shafique, Khushdil Shah, Yasir Shah, Saud Shakeel, Haris Sohail, Talat Hussain, Imam-ul-Haq, Ihsanullah, Abdul Wahid and Amir Yamin.