PAK vs AFG: 'Every player is a trump card for us,' says Abdul Rehman

Rehman has been named interim head coach of Pakistan team

By Web Desk
March 21, 2023
Pakistan's head coach Abdul Rehman addresses media in Lahore - PCB

Pakistan's head coach for the Afghanistan T20I series, Abdul Rehman is confident to prepare a young squad strongly. 

Led by Shadab Khan, Pakistan's squad contains mostly inexperienced players. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has given rest to its main players including captain Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Rauf, and Fakhar Zaman. 

Rehman alongside Umar Gul (bowling coach) and Mohammad Yousaf (batting coach) was named in the interim coaching panel. 

"I have come from coaching at grassroots. International cricket is a whole different game but there is no problem for me," said Rehman during a press conference in Lahore on Tuesday. 

"I have been given a very young squad. I am excited to coach this young squad and looking forward to their performances. Every player is a trump card for us," he added. 

Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 performers Saim Ayub, Ihsanullah, Zaman Khan, Azam Khan, Imad Wasim and Mohammad Haris will be seen in action during three-match T20I series in Sharjah. 

Rehman thinks Afghanistan players will have an idea of Pakistani players as they played in PSL 8. 

"They [Afghanistan] will have an edge as they played with and against our players during PSL 8. Their bowlers will have an idea of our batters," he said. 

"My focus is to keep players on their strength. I will try to utilise my experience and field a strong team in the ground. We have our bases covered," he concluded. 

Pakistan Squad

Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan

Afghanistan Squad

Rashid Khan (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ibrahim Zadran, Usman Ghani, Sediqullah Atal, Najibullah Zadran, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Gulbadin Naib, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Fareed Ahmad, Fazal Haq Farooqi and Naveen Ul Haq.

Reserved players: Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah, Usama Mir


Mar 24 - First T20I - Sharjah

Mar 26 - Second T20I - Sharjah

Mar 27 - Third T20I - Sharjah