Shaheen Afridi to lead Team of PSL 8

He led Lahore Qalandars to the title

By Web Desk
March 19, 2023
Shaheen Afridi took 19 wickets in PSL 8 — PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has named Shaheen Shah Afridi of Lahore Qalandars as captain of the Team of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight.

The lineup was selected by an independent panel that was headed by Haroon Rashid (Chairman of PSL 8 Technical Committee) and also included commentators Bazid Khan, Daren Ganga, Nick Knight and Sana Mir as members.

“While selecting the side, the independent panel considered a number of T20 cricket aspects, including consistency, impact on the side and overall game, and best possible team combination so that this team can take on any T20 side on any given day at any venue in any conditions,” the PCB said in a press release.

“Shaheen Shah Afridi inspired Lahore Qalandars to finish on top of the points table with seven wins, then helped his side to bounce back from a Multan Sultans drubbing in the Qualifier by overcoming Peshawar Zalmi in Eliminator 2, and, finally slapped a 15-ball 44 not out and took four for 51 to not only walk away with the player of the final award but also guided his side to their second successive PSL title," it added. 

Since the Team of PSL was introduced in 2019, this is the fourth consecutive year Shaheen has been included in the elusive list.

Overall, the side includes five players from losing finalists Multan Sultans, two players each from Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi, and one player each from Islamabad United and Karachi Kings.

Team of PSL 8 (in batting order)

1. Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (550 runs, 1x100, 4x50, strike-rate 142.85)

2. Babar Azam (Peshawar Zalmi) (522 runs, 1x100, 5x50, strike-rate 145.40)

3. Mohammad Haris (Peshawar Zalmi) (350 runs, 2x50, strike-rate 186.17)

4. Rilee Rossouw (Multan Sultans) (453 runs, 1x100, 3x50, strike-rate 171.59)

5. Azam Khan (Islamabad United) (282 runs, 2x50, strike-rate 161.14)

6. Kieron Pollard (Multan Sultans) (260 runs, 2x50, strike-rate 163.52; 3 wickets, 8.62 eco.)

7. Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) (404 runs, 3x50, strike-rate 170.46; 9 wickets, 7.93 eco.)

8. Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars) (captain) (133 runs, strike-rate 168.35; 19 wickets, 9.13 eco.)

9. Rashid Khan (Lahore Qalandars) (20 wickets, 6.53 eco.)

10. Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, 9.45 eco.)

11. Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, 7.59 eco.)

12. Saim Ayub (Peshawar Zalmi) (341 runs, 5x50, 165.53)