PSL 8: Ihsanullah named player-of-the-tournament, Rizwan bags two awards

Lahore Qalandars won PSL 8 after defeating Multan Sultans

By Web Desk
March 19, 2023
Ihsanullah and Mohammad Rizwan celebrate a wicket during PSL 8 - PCB

Multan Sultans' fast bowler Ihsanullah, an emerging player, bagged the player-of-the-tournament award in Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8. 

Ihsanullah, who bagged the second-highest 22 wickets in the tournament, has been named as the tournament's best player for his impactful performances. 

The right-arm pacer is the first emerging player to be named best among more experienced and established stars in the tournament. 

The previous seven winners of this award are: Ravi Bopara (2016, Karachi Kings), Kamran Akmal (2017, Peshawar Zalmi), Luke Ronchi (2018, Islamabad United), Shane Watson (2019, Quetta Gladiators), Babar Azam (2020, Karachi Kings), Sohaib Maqsood (2021, Multan Sultans) and Mohammad Rizwan (2022, Multan Sultans)

Multan's captain Mohammad Rizwan was adjudged as the best batter and best wicket-keeper of PSL 8. Rizwan finished the competition with 550 runs at a strike-rate of 142.85 with a century and four half-centuries. He accounted for 14 batters (13 catches and one stump).

Sultans' 21-year-old Abbas Afridi, who finished as the highest wicket-taker with 23 scalps, won the emerging player of PSL 8 whereas Kieron Pollard collected the best fielder award.

Alex Wharf was named as the umpire of PSL 8, while Karachi Kings' captain Imad Wasim was named as the all-rounder of PSL 8. The gutsy left-hander scored 404 runs at a strike-rate of over 170 and also claimed nine wickets at an economy-rate of 7.93. 

Complete list of award winners:

PSL 8 Player of the Tournament – Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, economy-rate 7.59)

PSL 8 Best Batter – Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (550 runs, 142.5 strike-rate)

PSL 8 Best Bowler – Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, economy-rate 7.59)

PSL 8 Best Fielder – Kieron Pollard (Multan Sultans) (11 catches)

PSL 8 Best Wicketkeeper – Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (14 dismissals)

PSL 8 Best Emerging player – Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, economy-rate 9.45)

PSL 8 all-rounder – Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) (404 runs and nine wickets)

PSL 8 Spirit of Cricket – Peshawar Zalmi

PSL 8 Umpire – Alex Wharf