Geo Super's PSL 2023 Team of the Tournament

The team will be led by Mohammad Rizwan

By Web Desk
March 18, 2023
Many players have impressed in PSL 8 — PCB

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight has produced many exciting matches with a plethora of players of local and foreign players making a name for themselves in the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)’s flagship tournament.

Ahead of the final between defending champions Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans, here is a look at the PSL 2023 Team of the Tournament.

1- Babar Azam – Peshawar Zalmi

The prolific batter is currently the highest run-scorer, 522, in the event and played a key role in his side’s run to the playoffs. Coupled with an improved strike-rate, Azam is one of the first names on the team sheet this season.

Runs: 522

Average: 52.20

Strike-rate: 145.40

2- Mohammad Rizwan – Multan Sultans (c)

For the third consecutive year the consistent Rizwan amassed 500 or more runs in a single edition of PSL. He is also the captain of the Team of the Tournament because of his impressive leadership skills.

Runs: 516

Average: 57.33

Strike-rate: 142.54

3- Mohammad Haris – Peshawar Zalmi

The young Haris impressed one and all in the tournament with his enterprising stroke-play. His fearless approach makes him a great asset for Zalmi and Pakistan cricket in general.

Runs: 350

Average: 31.81

Strike-rate: 186.17

4- Rilee Rossouw – Multan Sultans

The South Africa batter has been a key player for Sultans this season with his clean hitting and game awareness during crunch times.

Runs: 401

Average: 44.55

Strike-rate: 172.84

5- Azam Khan – Islamabad United

With his ability to clear the fence at will, Azam Khan can take the game away from the opposition in a matter of a few balls.

Runs: 282

Average: 40.28

Strike-rate: 161.14

6- Imad Wasim – Karachi Kings

Despite Karachi failing to live up to expectations, their captain Imad Wasim was in great touch, especially with the bat, throughout the league stage.

Runs: 404

Average: 134.66

Strike-rate: 170.46

7- Faheem Ashraf – Islamabad United

The all-rounder provides balance to the side with his ability to finish a match while also being a handy option with the ball.

Runs: 215

Wickets: 8

Batting strike-rate: 149.30

8- Rashid Khan – Lahore Qalandars

The wily Afghanistan leg-spinner was instrumental in ensuring that Lahore played their second consecutive PSL final.

Wickets: 18

Economy: 6.53

Best: 4-21

9- Abbas Afridi – Multan Sultans

The emerging right-armer has been a crucial part of Sultans’ campaign this year by picking up regular wickets during the death overs. He is also the highest wicket-taker in the tournament.

Wickets: 23

Economy: 9.45

Best: 5-47

10- Ihsanullah – Multan Sultans

Ihsanullah stole the limelight this season with his pace and accuracy, which makes him one of the players to watch out for in the future.

Wickets: 21

Economy: 7.26

Best: 5-12

11- Haris Rauf – Lahore Qalandars

The speedster regularly chipped away at the wickets during the tournament and remained an important member of Lahore’s bowling attack.

Wickets: 17

Economy: 8.98

Best: 3-22