PSL 2023: Lahore Qalandars set final date with Multan Sultans

Shaheen-led unit defeated Peshawar Zalmi in the Eliminator

By Web Desk
March 17, 2023
Billings (R) and Tahir (L) notched up crucial 50-run partnership in only 28 balls

Lahore Qalandars defeated Peshawar Zalmi by four wickets during the Eliminator 2 of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Friday. 

Defending champions Lahore will face Multan Sultans in a rematch of the 2022 final on Saturday (tomorrow) at the same venue. 

Chasing the 172-run target, Lahore reached home in 18.5 overs.  

Lahore lost Fakhar Zaman (6) early after he has castled while trying to play a big heave. Azmatullah Omarzai was the successful bowler. 

Meanwhile, Ahsan Hafeez, who was playing his first PSL match, handed a simple catch to wicketkeeper Haseebullah after he top-edged a ball from Wahab Riaz. The left-hander scored 15 runs in 10 balls.

After a big mixup between Abdullah Shafique and Mirza Tahir Baig, the former was sent packing. The right-hander scored run-a-ball 10. 

Shafique's departure brought Sam Billings to the crease, who along with Tahir got Lahore's run-chase back on track with a crucial 50-run partnership in only 28 balls. 

However, Tahir was dismissed after reaching his maiden T20 fifty with Aamer Jamal bagging the crucial scalp. He scored 54 runs in 42 balls with the help of seven fours and two sixes. 

Billings was cleaned up by a superb yorker by Salman Irshad. He scored 28 valuable runs in 21 balls. Meanwhile, Sikandar Raza scored 22 runs in 13 balls. 

Shaheen Afridi smacked a six and four in the 19th over to get his team over the line. 

Earlier, Peshawar scored 171-5 in their allotted 20 overs. 

Pacer Zaman Khan provided an early breakthrough after he shattered Saim Ayub's (9) stumps with a delivery that darted back in off the pitch. 

After the early setback, Babar Azam and Mohammad Haris added 89 runs in 60 balls for the second wicket to put Peshawar in control of the match.

However, just when Lahore needed, Rashid Khan claimed two wickets in the same over to send Babar (42 off 36) and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (0) back to the hut. 

Although, Haris kept on playing shots with ease and went on to score 85 runs in 54 balls. His impressive knock included 11 fours and two sixes.  

Shaheen was expensive with the ball as he conceded 41 runs in four overs but sent Haris back to the pavilion on the final delivery of his spell. 

Zaman was the pick of the bowlers for Lahore with figures of 2-20 in three overs. 


Lahore Qalandars: Mirza Tahir Baig, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Ahsan Bhatti, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Peshawar Zalmi: Saim Ayub, Babar Azam (c), Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Mohammad Haris, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Haseebullah Khan (wk), Aamer Jamal, Azmatullah Omarzai, Wahab Riaz, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Salman Irshad