PSL 8: Lahore Qalandars celebrate Zaman, Abdullah's entry into national T20I squad

Pakistan will play three T20Is against Afghanistan

By Web Desk
March 13, 2023
Shaheen congratulates Zaman and Abdullah for making it into the national T20I squad - screenshot of Lahore Qalandars' YouTube video

Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8's defending champions Lahore Qalandars celebrated the entry of their squad members, Abdullah Shafique and Zaman Khan, into the national T20I squad for the Afghanistan series

A celebration ceremony was conducted in Qalandars' dressing room where all the players congratulated the two new entrants in the national T20I squad. 

Abdullah and Zaman were named in Pakistan's squad for T20I series against Afghanistan which is scheduled at the end of March in Sharjah. 

Qalandars' co-owner Sameen Rana, skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi and head coach Aaqib Javed praised the two youngsters and wished them "best of luck". 

"I was so happy to hear about the inclusion of Zaman and Abdullah in the national T20I squad," said Shaheen. "I wish both of them good luck for the series and want one of them to bag the best player award," added Shaheen while thanking Qalandars' management for setting up a players' development program which produced players like Haris Rauf, Dilbar Hussain, and Zaman. 

Meanwhile, Aaqib took the autographs of Zaman and Abdullah while calling them future stars of Pakistan. 

Sameen said it's a proud moment for Qalandars' family as their players are finding their way into the national team. "I am glad that our players are making it into the national team. It's a trophy for us before the final game," he said. 

In 10 matches so far in PSL 8, Zaman has taken 12 wickets at an average of 22.08. His ability to defend runs in the last over was also praised by the national team's chief selector Haroon Rasheed during the squad-announcement press conference that took place in Lahore on Monday. 

On the other hand, Abdullah has so far scored 193 runs in seven matches at an average of 27.57. His powerful shots during the PSL 8 set him apart from other batters. 

The two youngsters will represent Qalandars in the playoffs as the defending champions finished the league stage as table toppers. They will face Multan Sultans in the qualifier on March 15 at Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium.

National T20I squad for Afghanistan series

Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan

Reserved players: Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah, Usama Mir


Mar 24 - First T20I - Sharjah

Mar 26 - Second T20I - Sharjah

Mar 27 - Third T20I - Sharjah