PAK vs AFG: Cricketers, fans laud PCB on adopting rotation policy

Shadab will lead national T20I team against Afghanistan

By Web Desk
March 13, 2023
Shahid Afridi and Umar Gul during ICC World Cup 2011 - ICC

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) made a bold decision to rest their main players including regular captain Babar Azam during the T20I series against Afghanistan. 

While keeping in mind the packed schedule of the national team ahead this year, PCB announced an inexperienced squad for three-match T20I series against Afghanistan which is scheduled at the end of March in Sharjah. 

Babar, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Rizwan have been given rest. All-rounder Shadab Khan, who has remained the vice-captain of Pakistan team in white-ball format, will lead the side against Afghanistan.

Former cricketers Shahid Afridi and Umar Gul alongside active cricketer Ahmad Shahzad and fans lauded PCB for adopting a rotation policy. 

Have a look:

PCB management committee chairman Najam Sethi clarified their stance on giving rest to senior players. During his press conference, Sethi shared that they have given rest to their senior players only after taking them in confidence.

"No one is out. We are just giving rest to our senior players to try young blood who has performed in the Pakistan Super League (PSL)," said Sethi.

"I have personally talked to Babar, Shaheen, Haris, Fakhar, and Rizwan that we want to give them rest and try some young players. They understood our point and we were good to go with our plan," the PCB boss said. 

Players including Imad Wasim, Saim Ayub, Azam Khan, Ihsanullah and Zaman Khan, who performed during the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8, have been included in 15-member T20I squad against Afghanistan. 

T20I Squad against Afghanistan

Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan

Reserved players: Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah, Usama Mir


Mar 24 - First T20I - Sharjah

Mar 26 - Second T20I - Sharjah

Mar 27 - Third T20I - Sharjah