PSL 2023: Exuberant Rossouw drives Multan to record run-chase

Rossouw scored fastest PSL century

By Web Desk
March 10, 2023
Rilee Rossouw scores fastest PSL century - PCB

Rilee Rossouw was unstoppable with the bat as he helped Multan Sultans set a new record run-chase in Pakistan Super League (PSL). 

During 27th match in the ongoing PSL 8, another record was set as Multan chased down 243 runs against Peshawar Zalmi. Just a couple of days ago, Quetta Gladiators chased down record 241 runs against the same team.

Rossouw was phenomenal as he also broke his own record of fastest century in PSL. The left-handed batter scored hundred off just 41 balls. His previous record was 43-ball century against Quetta Gladiators in 2020. 

The left-handed batter scored 121 runs laced with 12 boundaries and eight sixes to help Multan chase down a mammoth total with five balls to spare. 

In absence of regular skipper Babar Azam, who missed fielding due to fever, Peshawar took two early wickets. But, Rossouw alongside Kieron Pollard scored 99 runs off just 43 balls together to turn the game around for their team. 

Pollard scored a magnificent fifty to help Multan get to that big total. He smashed 52 runs off 25 balls including five maximums and three boundaries. 

It was Anwar Ali, in the end, finishing the game for Multan. Anwar, who bowled the joint second-most expensive spell in PSL today, contributed for his team with the bat. He remained not out for a match-winning 24 runs off just eight balls. 

Azmatullah Omarzai bagged two wickets while Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Arshad Iqbal, Wahab Riaz and Saim Ayub shared a wicket apiece for Peshawar. 

Earlier, Peshawar's openers Babar and Saim set the perfect tone for their team to set another big total. 

Babar and Saim scored 134 runs together to help Peshawar post 242-6 in 20 overs which is also now the second-highest total in this year's PSL.

The skipper scored a fifty with an improved strike-rate whereas Saim once again dominated from the front. Babar scored 73 runs including nine boundaries and two maximums whereas Saim made 58 off 33. 

Mohammad Haris, Peshawar's wicket-keeper batter, scored a quick 35 off 11 balls to contribute crucial runs to team's big total. In the end, Tom Kohler-Cadmore played a firepower knock of 38 off 18 balls. 

Abbas Afridi remained pick of the bowlers for Multan as he bagged four wickets. 


Peshawar Zalmi's skipper Babar Azam has won the toss and decided to bat first against Multan Sultans in 27th match of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 in Rawalpindi on Friday. 

Both teams, having eight points each, will be fighting for a must victory in order to qualify for the playoffs. The winning team today will make its place into the playoffs. 

So far, Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United have made it into the playoffs. Future of Quetta hangs in balance whereas Peshawar and Multan have a slightly stronger chance for playoffs qualification. 


Peshawar Zalmi: Mohammad Haris (wk), Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Haseebullah Khan, Rovman Powell, Aamer Jamal, Wahab Riaz, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Arshad Iqbal

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c), Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sheldon Cottrell, Ihsanullah