PSL 8: Peshawar Zalmi face Multan Sultans for spot in playoffs

The match will be played in Rawalpindi

By Web Desk
March 10, 2023
Babar Azam (L) and Mohammad Rizwan (R) before the toss — PCB

Peshawar Zalmi will face Multan Sultans during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight clash at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi today (Friday).

The winner of today’s clash will book their spot in the playoffs of the tournament since they are currently tied on eight points after as many matches.

Despite a good start to the tournament, Multan desperately need a win to get their campaign back on track after three straight defeats.

On the other hand, Zalmi also lost their last match and would be looking to make a comeback in today’s clash.

Star batter Babar Azam will lead Peshawar, meanwhile prolific wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan will captain Multan.  

It must be noted that Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United have already qualified for the playoffs of the tournament.

The closing ceremony and final will be played on March 19 in Lahore, which will also host play-offs.

The winner will not only lift the Supernova Trophy but will also collect a cheque of Rs120m, while the runners-up will receive a cheque of Rs48m.


Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c & wk), David Miller, Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, Akeal Hosain, Mohammad Ilyas, Tim David, Usama Mir, Sameen Gul, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Sarwar, Usman Khan, Arafat Minhas, Ihsanullah, Abbas Afridi, Kieron Pollard, Ammad Butt, Carlos Brathwaite, IzharulHaq Naveed.

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam (c), Rovman Powell, Wahab Riaz, Arshad Iqbal, Danish Aziz, Mohammad Haris (wk), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Aamer Jamal, Saim Ayub, Salman Irshad, Haseebullah Khan, Khurram Shahzad, Richard Gleeson, Sufyan Muqeem, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Usman Qadir, Jimmy Neesham, Haris Sohail

Remaining PSL 8 matches

10 Mar - Pakistan Women’s League Exhibition Match 2, Pindi Cricket Stadium; Peshawar Zalmi v Multan Sultans, Pindi Cricket Stadium

11 Mar - Pakistan Women’s League Exhibition Match 3, Pindi Cricket Stadium; Quetta Gladiators v Multan Sultans, Pindi Cricket Stadium

12 Mar - Islamabad United v Peshawar Zalmi, Pindi Cricket Stadium; Lahore Qalandars v Karachi Kings, Gaddafi Stadium

15 Mar - Qualifier (1 v 2), Gaddafi Stadium

16 Mar - Eliminator 1 (3 v 4), Gaddafi Stadium

17 Mar - Eliminator 2 (loser Qualifier v winner Eliminator 1), Gaddafi Stadium

19 Mar - Final, Gaddafi Stadium