PSL 8: Rashid joins Lahore Qalandars ahead of Quetta Gladiators clash

He is likely to play today's match

By Web Desk
February 21, 2023
Rashid Khan bowls during a PSL match in 2022 — PCB

Rashid Khan has joined the Lahore Qalandars squad for the ongoing eight edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

The talented Afghanistan cricketer touched down in Karachi during the wee hours of Tuesday (today).

The leg-spinner will also be available for today’s clash against Quetta Gladiators at the National Bank Cricket Arena.

Defending champions Lahore are currently at the bottom of the points table with two points after two games.

Lahore beat Multan Sultans by one run in the opening clash of PSL 8 after young pacer Zaman Khan defended 15 runs in the last over to win the game for his side.

However, Lahore lost to Karachi Kings by 67 runs in their second match of the tournament on Sunday.

It must be noted that the closing ceremony and final of PSL 8 will be played on March 19 in Lahore, which will also host play-offs.

The winner will not only lift the Supernova Trophy but will also collect a cheque of Rs120m, while the runners-up will receive a cheque of Rs48m.

Lahore Qalandars will attempt to become the first side to win back-to-back titles; meanwhile Islamabad United will aim to become the most successful side by lifting the trophy thrice.

Rawalpindi will stage 11 fixtures, Karachi and Lahore will host nine matches each, whereas Multan will have five home games.

Lahore Qalandars squad

Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, David Wiese, Abdullah Shafique, Shane Dadswell, Kamran Ghulam, Zaman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, Liam Dawson, Dilbar Hussain, Mirza Tahir Baig, Ahmed Danlyal, Shawaiz Irfan, Jordan Cox, Jalat Khan, Ahsan Bhatti, Sam Billings (partial replacement for Rashid Khan) and Shai Hope.

Lahore’s remaining fixtures

21 Feb: Quetta Gladiators v Lahore Qalandars

26 Feb: Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi

27 Feb: Lahore Qalandars v Islamabad United

2 March: Lahore Qalandars v Quetta Gladiators

4 March: Lahore Qalandars v Multan Sultans

7 March: Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore Qalandars

9 March: Islamabad United v Lahore Qalandars

12 March: Lahore Qalandars v Karachi Kings