PSL 8: Shadab Khan eyes glory for the third time

Islamabad United will take on Karachi Kings on February 16

February 14, 2023
Islamabad were crowned champions in 2016 and 2018 — Islamabad United 

Islamabad United's captain Shadab Khan aims to become the champions of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) for the third time ahead of his side's opening clash against Karachi Kings, scheduled on February 16.

In an exclusive interview with Geo News, Shadab said: "Every team in the PSL is here to become champions, and the intention of my team is also to the same. Hopefully, the fans will like the Islamabad team this time."

The talismanic all-rounder also said that the management of his side was focused on retaining batting depth.

"We went for depth in the batting during the draft and earlier in the retention of players. We got the players that we wanted in the draft. Hopefully, the team will do good in PSL 8," he said.

Shadab also said, keeping in mind the unfortunate injuries of PSL 7, that the management had roped in a backup of every player so there would be no problem this year. 

When asked about his personal goal in PSL 8, he said: "Every player wants to be the best cricketer in this tournament. Likewise, I want to perform well and become the best cricketer of PSL."

While shedding light on getting married, Shadab, who recently tied the knot with former cricketer Saqlain Mushtaq's daughter, said he would try to maintain a balance between his professional and private life. 

United will take on Kings at the National Stadium, Karachi on February 16.

It is should be noted here that the PSL 8 kicked off at the Multan Cricket Stadium after a glittering opening ceremony, touted as the "best-ever".

Islamabad were crowned champions in 2016 and 2018, which makes them the only team to win the title twice. United beat Quetta Gladiators in the final of the inaugural season, in 2016, by six wickets to clinch the trophy. In 2018, they defeated Peshawar Zalmi by three wickets in the title-deciding match.

They have also qualified for the playoffs of all the seasons of PSL, expect for 2020.

After being knocked out in Eliminator 2 of PSL 7, United would be looking to go one step further and lift the trophy this season.

Islamabad United Squad

Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Colin Munro, Paul Stirling, Alex Hales, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abrar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Rumman Raees, Zeeshan Zamir, Hassan Nawaz, Moeen Ali (available from March 14), Mubasir Khan, Tom Curran, Zafar Gohar, Gus Atkinson (partial replacement for Rahmanullah Gurbaz), Tymal Mills (partial replacement for Alex Hales), Rassie van der Dussen (partial replacement for Moeen Ali)

Faizan Lakhani is Deputy Editor (Sports) at Geo News.