Multan Sultans: Preview, fixtures and probable lineup for PSL 8

The team will be led by Mohammad Rizwan

February 07, 2023
Multan Sultans are the most successful team (by win ratio) in the PSL — PCB 

After its emergence in 2018, Multan Sultans had a slow start in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) during the first two seasons, but the franchise rose to the top in the last two editions, winning the title in 2021 and securing second position in the seventh edition.

Sultans joined PSL after the then chairman Najam Sethi announced after the conclusion of the second edition that there would be a sixth team in the Pakistan Cricket Board's (PCB) flagship event.

The Sultans' current skipper Mohammad Rizwan, who was dumped by Karachi Kings, was roped in by Multan Sultans in 2020, where they finished third under Shan Masood's captaincy.

However, Rizwan was appointed their captain in 2021, where he led them to their first-ever PSL trophy, while also helping them reach the final in the PSL 2022.

Multan Sultans are the most successful team (by win ratio) in the PSL as they have a win percentage of 57.54. The franchise also holds the record for the highest margin win (by runs) in the PSL, as they beat Quetta Gladiators by 117 runs at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on February 18, 2022.


Batting is the Sultans' main strength in this edition of the PSL as they have massive firepower in their squad.

Tim David, who was an integral part of their squad, after scoring 278 runs last year, as he can always be a threat to the opponent with his fiery and aggressive batting.

Apart from David, Rilee Rossouw will be a key player to watch in the upcoming tournament. After performing consistently in the T20 format in different leagues, the batter made his comeback to the South Africa T20I side and represented the Proteas in the T20 World Cup 2022.

The left-hander had scored 275 runs for the Multan Sultans in PSL 2022.

Moreover, the Sultans also signed Kieron Pollard in the Replacement Draft and have Khushdil Shah in the form of an all-rounder, who adds massive value to any T20 team.

Spin could also be one of the Multan Sultans' strengths in the upcoming edition as they have versatile spinners like Akeal Hosein, Usama Mir and Khusdil Shah.


Last year, the seventh edition's runners-up had the experience of David Willey, who claimed 13 wickets for them, which also convinced IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore to buy him for INR two crores for IPL 2022. However, the Englishman is not included in their squad this year.

In Willey’s absence, the likes of Shahnawaz Dahani, Wayne Parnell and Joshua Little will have to step up and shoulder the responsibility in the pace bowling department.

Finishing positions in previous seasons

The franchise made its debut in the 2018 edition of the PSL, but their debut season wasn't welcoming as they finished fifth in the league.

In the fourth edition of the PSL, under the captaincy of Shoaib Malik, the Sultans ended the tournament in the same position.

However, after Shan Masood was named captain of the side and seasoned coach Andy Flower took charge of the team, the side showed progress and finished third in the league.

Before the PSL 6 season began in February 2021, Multan Sultans announced Mohammad Rizwan would take Shan Masood's place as their captain. Rizwan lived up to the team’s expectations after leading Multan Sultans to their maiden PSL championship.

Moreover, in the seventh edition of the event, Rizwan led them to the back-to-back final, but the defending champions lost to Lahore Qalandars, who won their maiden PSL title.


Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Shahnawaz Dahani, Tim David, Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, David Miller, Josh Little, Akeal Hosein, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, Sameen Gul, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Sarwar, Arafat Minhas, Kieron Pollard, Amad Butt

Partial replacements: Wayne Parnell and Izharulhaq Naveed


13 Feb: Multan Sultans v Lahore Qalandars

15 Feb: Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators

17 Feb: Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi

19 Feb: Multan Sultans v Islamabad United

22 Feb: Multan Sultans v Karachi Kings

26 Feb: Karachi Kings v Multan Sultans

4 March: Lahore Qalandars v Multan Sultans

7 March: Islamabad United v Multan Sultans

10 March: Peshawar Zalmi v Multan Sultans

11 March: Quetta Gladiators v Multan Sultans

Probable lineup

Mohammad Rizwan (c), Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller/Tim David, Arafat Minhas, Kieron Pollard, Amad Butt, Usama Mir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Josh Little

It must be noted that as per the criteria, playing XI must include a minimum of two and a maximum of four foreign players and one emerging category player.